We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality, warmth and modern amenities tucked into the middle of the 19th century” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hospitality, warmth and modern amenities tucked into the middle of the 19th century”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Stonehouse B&B is the place to stay if you value history but do not want to compromise on comfort.

Intimate and friendly, the Inn is in the middle of what may be our country’s best collection of restored 19th century homes – Harper’s Ferry, West Virginia. Step-out of the front door of the Inn for an early morning walk, run or bike ride, and you are in the middle of a National Historic Park, yards away from the Appalachian Trail, and a short walk from the C&O Canal. Does this sound like too much work to you? Me too. So instead, sleep-in a little (the bed was incredible), feast on a generous and tasty breakfast, and kick-back with coffee in front of an impressive stone fireplace (accompanied by a great Inn dog if he senses you want company – how do you train a dog to know that?). Do you have something to say? Great! Chris, the owner and proprietor, is friendly and interesting – and knows how and when to engage guests, and when to let you have your down time. This is a very cool place, with an unbeatable location, and great Innkeep. Park your car on Friday, and don’t move it until Sunday - or come on bikes via the Canal.

If you want to know what it feels like to walk the streets of the 19th century, take a stroll after 8 PM (most visitors have gone home). If you prefer the 21st century, take a short walk to one of the downtown restaurants, have a beer or dessert, and return to your comfy lodging – choose your degree of historical immersion, but don’t miss the Stonehouse B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The last time we visited Harpers Ferry there was no place to stay near the historic park buildings. But that has changed. How lucky we were to find the Stonehouse B&B which allowed us to park the car and not have to get in it again. It is convenient to restaurants, hiking, the wax museum (a hoot!), the Ghost tour, shops. The location allows you to step out the door and wander around the town easily, particularly after hours when most of the town shuts down. You get a nice feel of the history of the place when cars and people have adjourned for the night. And Chris and his trusty superdog Cane, are just terrific -- good company, laid back, great cook. The inn is not frilly or overdone antiques -- but very tasteful and beautiful. The beds are really comfy. We went with another couple and enjoyed hanging out in the living room just chatting and playing Chris' guitars and banjo. It was like visiting an old friend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I had an absolute blast at Stonehouse B&B in Harpers Ferry. You walk out the front door and you are in the heart of everything. Chris has done an amazing job restoring the 1800's house and his taste in decoration was spot on. It doesn't feel like grandma's house but you sure feel at home. Awesome heart pine floors and exposed beams, this place is cool from top to bottom. We've stayed in other B&B's in the past and have enjoyed them, but this one is very special. it's easy to see the care that Chris has put into his place and easy to feel how he and Cane, his great dog, makes you feel at home. Our room was great and the breakfast was out of this world. We can't wait to go back this winter and sit by the awesome wood stove and sip mulled wine!! Ask Chris about the awesome hiking trails right out side his front door

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just spent a 3-day weekend at the Stonehouse, which was a great place for what we wanted. Because it's in the lower town, we could have one of Chris's wonderful breakfasts and then a peaceful walk around the town or down by the river before the crowds arrived. After walking around the area, which is quite up-and-down, we went back to our room for a nap and/or a book before dinner. Unlike a lot of B&B owners, Chris doesn't fuss much and we never felt the place was off-limits during the middle of the day.

The only drawback was the noise from passing trains, even at night - which is the trade-off for the great location. And it won't stop us from staying at the Stonehouse on our next trip to Harpers Ferry.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I pretty much line up with the previous positive reviews. Having just returned from a night at the Stone House, I too can vouch for both the clean lines of the decor and the gracious nature of the Host. You couldnt have a more central location or relaxing atmosphere ....and breakfast, as you've heard, truly is phenomenal. Thanks for a great place to overnight Chris and best of luck with everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Chris has done a great job in turning his house into a quaint 3 bedroom place. He has done a very good job with his resoration and not your usual frilly place. Well located in downtown Harpers Ferry. Only problem we had was the RR was working on a tunnell and heald up trains during the day, then let them all roll..ALL night long.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Well appointed rooms that having a few thoughtful and interesting pieces in them - lots of space and very comfortable. Not the typical B&B with clutter and trinkets everywhere. Chris has done a lovely job restoring this old stone house. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the Lower Town. Parking was included in our rate (which is a treat since it is otherwise $10/day at the National Park Service or train depot!) In the morning, we were able to walk to a great hiking trail and come back and shower before driving home! Highly recommend staying here. Should also note that there was definitely AC (it was over 100 degrees when we stayed there and it was nice & cool in our room!) as well as a television that was thoughtfully 'hidden' on the inside of a trunk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1839, Stonehouse B&B is the only bed and breakfast located in the lower town of Harpers Ferry, WV and the most recent to open. We offer a laid back and relaxing stay in the heart of the historic district and are located the closest to the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers, the Appalachian Trail, C&O canal, the train station, shops, restaurants, ice cream places and Harpers Ferry National Historical Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.