We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great House, Great Location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great House, Great Location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I had an absolute blast at Stonehouse B&B in Harpers Ferry. You walk out the front door and you are in the heart of everything. Chris has done an amazing job restoring the 1800's house and his taste in decoration was spot on. It doesn't feel like grandma's house but you sure feel at home. Awesome heart pine floors and exposed beams, this place is cool from top to bottom. We've stayed in other B&B's in the past and have enjoyed them, but this one is very special. it's easy to see the care that Chris has put into his place and easy to feel how he and Cane, his great dog, makes you feel at home. Our room was great and the breakfast was out of this world. We can't wait to go back this winter and sit by the awesome wood stove and sip mulled wine!! Ask Chris about the awesome hiking trails right out side his front door

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just spent a 3-day weekend at the Stonehouse, which was a great place for what we wanted. Because it's in the lower town, we could have one of Chris's wonderful breakfasts and then a peaceful walk around the town or down by the river before the crowds arrived. After walking around the area, which is quite up-and-down, we went back to our room for a nap and/or a book before dinner. Unlike a lot of B&B owners, Chris doesn't fuss much and we never felt the place was off-limits during the middle of the day.

The only drawback was the noise from passing trains, even at night - which is the trade-off for the great location. And it won't stop us from staying at the Stonehouse on our next trip to Harpers Ferry.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I pretty much line up with the previous positive reviews. Having just returned from a night at the Stone House, I too can vouch for both the clean lines of the decor and the gracious nature of the Host. You couldnt have a more central location or relaxing atmosphere ....and breakfast, as you've heard, truly is phenomenal. Thanks for a great place to overnight Chris and best of luck with everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Chris has done a great job in turning his house into a quaint 3 bedroom place. He has done a very good job with his resoration and not your usual frilly place. Well located in downtown Harpers Ferry. Only problem we had was the RR was working on a tunnell and heald up trains during the day, then let them all roll..ALL night long.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Well appointed rooms that having a few thoughtful and interesting pieces in them - lots of space and very comfortable. Not the typical B&B with clutter and trinkets everywhere. Chris has done a lovely job restoring this old stone house. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the Lower Town. Parking was included in our rate (which is a treat since it is otherwise $10/day at the National Park Service or train depot!) In the morning, we were able to walk to a great hiking trail and come back and shower before driving home! Highly recommend staying here. Should also note that there was definitely AC (it was over 100 degrees when we stayed there and it was nice & cool in our room!) as well as a television that was thoughtfully 'hidden' on the inside of a trunk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Stonehouse B&B is very convenient to the train station, which made it a logical place for us to stay on our train trip. The historic building is being renovated by the owner, so there are projects in progress in several of the rooms. Even with that, it was a delightful B&B.

It is very close to the National Park facilities, to the trails and to the rivers. We had a wonderful time hiking and visiting the National Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My historian husband and I had an absolutely delightful stay at this lovely B+ B. We love the dog and the musical instruments that show the character of the owner. The sound of trains and thunder only made it more interesting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1839, Stonehouse B&B is the only bed and breakfast located in the lower town of Harpers Ferry, WV and the most recent to open. We offer a laid back and relaxing stay in the heart of the historic district and are located the closest to the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers, the Appalachian Trail, C&O canal, the train station, shops, restaurants, ice cream places and Harpers Ferry National Historical Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.