We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Digs in the Lower Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Digs in the Lower Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I pretty much line up with the previous positive reviews. Having just returned from a night at the Stone House, I too can vouch for both the clean lines of the decor and the gracious nature of the Host. You couldnt have a more central location or relaxing atmosphere ....and breakfast, as you've heard, truly is phenomenal. Thanks for a great place to overnight Chris and best of luck with everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Chris has done a great job in turning his house into a quaint 3 bedroom place. He has done a very good job with his resoration and not your usual frilly place. Well located in downtown Harpers Ferry. Only problem we had was the RR was working on a tunnell and heald up trains during the day, then let them all roll..ALL night long.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Well appointed rooms that having a few thoughtful and interesting pieces in them - lots of space and very comfortable. Not the typical B&B with clutter and trinkets everywhere. Chris has done a lovely job restoring this old stone house. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the Lower Town. Parking was included in our rate (which is a treat since it is otherwise $10/day at the National Park Service or train depot!) In the morning, we were able to walk to a great hiking trail and come back and shower before driving home! Highly recommend staying here. Should also note that there was definitely AC (it was over 100 degrees when we stayed there and it was nice & cool in our room!) as well as a television that was thoughtfully 'hidden' on the inside of a trunk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Stonehouse B&B is very convenient to the train station, which made it a logical place for us to stay on our train trip. The historic building is being renovated by the owner, so there are projects in progress in several of the rooms. Even with that, it was a delightful B&B.

It is very close to the National Park facilities, to the trails and to the rivers. We had a wonderful time hiking and visiting the National Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My historian husband and I had an absolutely delightful stay at this lovely B+ B. We love the dog and the musical instruments that show the character of the owner. The sound of trains and thunder only made it more interesting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

By the time I got to Harpers Ferry, on the way from Pittsburgh to DC and through the muddy C&O, I was ready for taking it easy. Chris helped me wash the bike and he did the rest. My room would have shared a bathroom but the other room on my floor was vacant. I had everything to myself with a nice breeze through the open window. (No AC but a ceiling fan kept it comfortable.) The house and rooms are rustic but clean and comfortable. No TV but as everywhere these days, wireless (though it was a bit finicky.) Breakfast was great: eggs, sausage and bacon plus muffins. Needed it all for the next slog through the mud. (Shouldn't exaggerate though. The trail was not great but got me down to White's Ferry to jump to the W&OD.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris c, Owner at Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Just a quick note in response to this review. All the rooms are air-conditioned and there is a TV in the house for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This tidy B&B is ideally located to experience Harpers Ferry in all its historic glory. Beautifully decorated in a sparse, hip and eclectic fashion, this ain't your grandmother's B&B. There's no chintz in sight. Instead, there are exposed beams from old canal boats in the ceiling, stone walls two feet thick, wood floors and dim, dramatic lighting. Your host Chris is casual yet attentive, friendly and easy to talk to. You will feel as though you are visiting a friend. The house is gorgeous, rustic and cozy...and has great books on the shelf. I wanted to stay a week just to read several of them. For an authentic Harpers Ferry visit, you cannot do better than Stonehouse B&B (no park service shuttle bus for you!). Can't wait to go back, walk the tow path and hike the surrounding heights. And, of course, enjoy a delicious breakfast and strong coffee with Chris.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1839, Stonehouse B&B is the only bed and breakfast located in the lower town of Harpers Ferry, WV and the most recent to open. We offer a laid back and relaxing stay in the heart of the historic district and are located the closest to the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers, the Appalachian Trail, C&O canal, the train station, shops, restaurants, ice cream places and Harpers Ferry National Historical Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.