We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B for train travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B for train travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Stonehouse B&B is very convenient to the train station, which made it a logical place for us to stay on our train trip. The historic building is being renovated by the owner, so there are projects in progress in several of the rooms. Even with that, it was a delightful B&B.

It is very close to the National Park facilities, to the trails and to the rivers. We had a wonderful time hiking and visiting the National Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My historian husband and I had an absolutely delightful stay at this lovely B+ B. We love the dog and the musical instruments that show the character of the owner. The sound of trains and thunder only made it more interesting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

By the time I got to Harpers Ferry, on the way from Pittsburgh to DC and through the muddy C&O, I was ready for taking it easy. Chris helped me wash the bike and he did the rest. My room would have shared a bathroom but the other room on my floor was vacant. I had everything to myself with a nice breeze through the open window. (No AC but a ceiling fan kept it comfortable.) The house and rooms are rustic but clean and comfortable. No TV but as everywhere these days, wireless (though it was a bit finicky.) Breakfast was great: eggs, sausage and bacon plus muffins. Needed it all for the next slog through the mud. (Shouldn't exaggerate though. The trail was not great but got me down to White's Ferry to jump to the W&OD.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris c, Owner at Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Just a quick note in response to this review. All the rooms are air-conditioned and there is a TV in the house for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This tidy B&B is ideally located to experience Harpers Ferry in all its historic glory. Beautifully decorated in a sparse, hip and eclectic fashion, this ain't your grandmother's B&B. There's no chintz in sight. Instead, there are exposed beams from old canal boats in the ceiling, stone walls two feet thick, wood floors and dim, dramatic lighting. Your host Chris is casual yet attentive, friendly and easy to talk to. You will feel as though you are visiting a friend. The house is gorgeous, rustic and cozy...and has great books on the shelf. I wanted to stay a week just to read several of them. For an authentic Harpers Ferry visit, you cannot do better than Stonehouse B&B (no park service shuttle bus for you!). Can't wait to go back, walk the tow path and hike the surrounding heights. And, of course, enjoy a delicious breakfast and strong coffee with Chris.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Stone House B&B. The proprietor was fun, accommodating, hospitable, and he cooks one heck of a breakfast. The house itself is charming, has rustic yet hip décor, and has an excellent view of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers. The immediate area around the house has a number of entertaining options visitors should take advantage of, including restaurants, historical tours, and nature trails. We highly recommend the Stone House B&B for your next getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomsburg pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The Stonehouse B&B is located right in the heart of the historic district, within a stone's throw of one of the most breathtaking views on the east coast - the confluence of two rivers and three states: the Potomac meets the Shenandoah and WV, VA and MD form the boundary. We saw trains come and go into and out of the tunnel carved into the cliff from our breakfast table. Chris served us what he calls "Christmas Breakfast" which was a puffy egg and sausage bread pudding. Along with grilled pineapple and plenty of juice and good coffee, it was a wonderful breakfast. The B&B is authentically restored and furnished simply with pieces that look to be of the period except for the vintage motorcycle parked in the living room. Our beds were very comfortable and the temperature inside was just right, especially by the wood stove, where we sat and chatted with Chris for quite a while as his dog, Cane, dozed nearby. We really liked Chris' personal style and philosophy. He likes to cook food he has grown, drink wine he has made himself, and live a simple life. As we were leaving, we watched him prepare and hang meat jerky in a homemade smoker. As in many small towns, night life mainly consists of seeing friends over a meal, which is what we did at the Press Room in nearby Shepherdstown (reservations necessary). In the rooms, we found books we would actually like to read and none of the clutter and cutesy knick knacks that are often found in many B&Bs. The lower part of Harpers Ferry where the Stonehouse is located is mainly taken up by historic preservation exhibits managed by the Park Service. Literally next door and across the street visitors can walk into the building where John Brown staged his famous raid, go up the hand hewn stone steps to the church that served as a hospital during the Civil War, and walk inside a restored general store, bakery, horologist's shop, and other restored structures, all for free. The Stonehouse has only been open for a few months, but we believe Chris has made a fantastic start. We are B&B owners ourselves, and give Chris high praise for the quality of his restoration and his hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwood de
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My fiance took me to Harpers ferry WV for my birthday this past monday, we stayed at the stonehouse bed and breakfast Monday night, what can I say It was like staying with a close friend, Chris is one great host he makes you feel very welcome and his dog is great, Rooms were very very clean and nice and down to earth and the view was outstanding of the mountain, Breakfast was out of this world, my fiance went down hour before I got up and just hung out and spoke with Chris, when I came down he had coffee juice, and a great egg souffle and fresh fruit for us, so in a nut shell if you want to go and feel like your at home or your best friends house the Stonehouse Band B is the place, oh and it's right down town with parking out back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1839, Stonehouse B&B is the only bed and breakfast located in the lower town of Harpers Ferry, WV and the most recent to open. We offer a laid back and relaxing stay in the heart of the historic district and are located the closest to the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers, the Appalachian Trail, C&O canal, the train station, shops, restaurants, ice cream places and Harpers Ferry National Historical Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.