We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place for quiet folk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teahorse B&B / Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teahorse B&B / Hostel
1312 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet place for quiet folk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at Teahorse Hostel. The proprietor, Laurel, was prompt with answering the phone and responding to email when I booked beforehand.

The hostel is easy to miss because the sign isn't very big. That said, once you do find it, life is good: the hostel is clean, they accept credit cards, there are laundry facilities downstairs, rooms are spacious and adequately outfitted with power points, breakfast is good... The list goes on.

To contribute to the "warm welcome" debate, I think Laurel does a fantastic job of making her guests feel welcomed in her own, quiet way. She took pains to made sure I had everything I needed, that I knew where everything was, and was helpful in suggesting things to do.

If you're staying in Harper's Ferry, I highly recommend Teahorse hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have read the couple of comments about a 'cold' welcome. Not the Tea Horse Hostel, I know. Two of us stayed here, Easter 2012, when the Town Mill Hotel was full. We turned up at the door and were made very welcome. The owner made us tea and the next morning came up to our room to cook us a wonderful breakfast, including waffles. Yummy.

Sad, to only stay one night. Couldn't wait to return. Shall be returning for two nights with a different friend in October.2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You're just a number here at the Teahorse Hostel. The guests that stay here are super sweet and devoted hikers but don't expect a warm welcome from the owner. I arrived at the hostel hot and tired and was disappointed with the welcome I received. I paid for my two night stay was given the combination number for the bunk room upstairs and that was it. Sharing a coed ten bunk room wasn't easy but I must say everyone was really nice about shutting the lights off and going to sleep at a decent hour. The waffle breakfast served in the morning is a terrific. I was able to enjoy plenty of waffles with fresh blueberries and strawberries that kept me filled for most of the day. You can hang your clothes out to dry on the clothes line and there's a picnic table as well as Adirondack chairs for lounging around. It's very relaxing to sit outside and enjoy the serenity of the area. The Teahorse is in a pretty residential area with a nearby park and an excellent 7/11 shop. Also close by is the historic battlefield. If you're on a budget the Teahorse B & B Hostel is a good value but if you're looking for charm and privacy head to a traditional bed and breakfast instead.The best part about staying here was meeting so many exceptional hikers that shared their Appalachian Trail hiking experience with me. I was very inspired by them and wish them all a successful 2,000 journey on the Appalachian Trail.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
When the hostel is full, it is difficult to offer personal attention to each guest. I am sorry you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I look at reviews like the one I'm about to type and say, "There's always an outlier." We came off the AT after 11 days and staying at two other hostels along the way. We chose to stay here because of other reviews and because it had a vacancy. "Welcoming" is not a word that comes to my mind, but rather a " business as usual" atmosphere. Present your drivers license and credit card please, here's the combo for the lock upstairs, $5 more for laundry, stick your hiking poles outside, breakfast ay 6:30 am and plenty leftover for dining later, no mention of any shuttle service (yes, there are signs about it), no offers of direction for dining options, and apparently no smiling allowed.
On the nice side is that the rooms are clean, the kitchen is inviting, there is wi-fi, and lots of directional signs for things like where recycling goes, your bedding, etc. The rooms are bright and it seems they are cleaned daily. There is air conditioning throughout and floor fans available for use. Two bathrooms w/ showers helped to prevent long waits. It was a comfortable place to rest one's head after a long, hot day.
Breakfast waffles were good served with butter, Wal-mart syrup, and fresh fruit (bananas, blueberries, and strawberries), whipped cream, and minute maid orange juice. Our clan washed the dishes and put them away. So maybe this is where hostel blurs with the bed and breakfast portion of the property.
We needed to store our backpacks for a couple of hours until a room we had reserved at another location was available. We asked if we could keep them there and at first were told we could take them to the AT center 0.5 miles away. This would mean we walk the packs there and then walk them back another half mile to our new location when the Teahorse was literally around the corner from where we needed to go. Laurel reluctantly allowed us to keep our bags on the property. This was not only our impression of the conversation but from a couple of other guests as well.
Not sure what else is available in the area, but should we return, we would definitely explore other options. At this price range, we are certain few of the young thru hikers we encountered would pay this amount. We stayed at other hostels for far less and had a warmer welcome, free laundry, free shuttles into town, and caretakers that provided loads of information. We were happy to give extra tips to these folks for their hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Yes, our guests wash out their own plate, silverware and cup following breakfast - this is in sync with usual hostel rules. No one has ever complained about it or made a sarcastic comment about it.

At $32 plus tax per person for bed, shower and waffle breakfast, we feel we offer an exceptional bargain in Harpers Ferry.

Hikers frequently leave their backpacks at my hostel when they go to DC for the day or are walking around town - there is no problem doing this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I did a 5 day backpacking hike front Front Royal up to Harpers Ferry. Spend first and last nights at this hostel. Laurel's hospitality and low key character were helpful, and so was shuttle service for free around town. The place is clean, has 3 different sleeping areas, is quiet is close enough to a few simple restaurants and a few blocks from basic 7-11 store. 1 free computer downstairs, and laundry for $5. Breakfast is wholesome and filling fresh fruit, bananas, waffles, juice and coffee. Lots of thru hikers and some section hikers stayed there. Would definitely stay again, and I do recommend it to others. Keep it up Laurel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We were glad to host you for more than one night as your group of three hiked around Harpers Ferry. Hope you get to do that thru-hike one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Can't say enough about our experience. You are our hero for going out of your way for us.... Excellent service and great place to lay your head. Tire blow out and no place open, thanks to Laurel who came to our rescue! !! Jean and Anne

Room Tip: I never stayed at a hostel before, all in all it was a great experience. will stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
You ladies are the brave ones - to be out in the weather that you were in! Take care and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Laruel was again wonderful to work with. She provided our family with a shuttle to our starting point for our backpacking trip on the Appalachian Trail. Her hospitality and attention translate to her business. We highly recommend her to anyone. You will not be dissapointed in her hostel or her shuttle services.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Teahorse B&B / Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teahorse B&B / Hostel

Address: 1312 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teahorse Hostel - we are a B&B and hostel for hikers on the AT, bicyclists on the C&O towpath, and other visitors to Harpers Ferry. Rent by the room or rent by the bed. Rest in our spotless hostel, take a shower, meet other hikers and bicyclists, cook your own food in the kitchen or dine in nearby restaurants. * Located one half mile west from the Appalachian Trail Conservancy in Harpers Ferry * Waffle breakfast included! * Fully equipped kitchen * Laundry ($5 per load - we supply detergent) * Common area * Wi-Fi and computer with internet free to guests * Outside patio * Two blocks from 7-11 * Locked storage for bikes * Parking behind the hostel * mail drops- free to guests; $2 per package otherwise * ask about shuttles in DC/MD/VA/PA/WV area * sorry, no pets or smoking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teahorse B&B / Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Teahorse B&B / Hostel to your Saves list