We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B Where You Get to do Your Own Dishes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Teahorse B&B / Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teahorse B&B / Hostel
1312 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A B&B Where You Get to do Your Own Dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I look at reviews like the one I'm about to type and say, "There's always an outlier." We came off the AT after 11 days and staying at two other hostels along the way. We chose to stay here because of other reviews and because it had a vacancy. "Welcoming" is not a word that comes to my mind, but rather a " business as usual" atmosphere. Present your drivers license and credit card please, here's the combo for the lock upstairs, $5 more for laundry, stick your hiking poles outside, breakfast ay 6:30 am and plenty leftover for dining later, no mention of any shuttle service (yes, there are signs about it), no offers of direction for dining options, and apparently no smiling allowed.
On the nice side is that the rooms are clean, the kitchen is inviting, there is wi-fi, and lots of directional signs for things like where recycling goes, your bedding, etc. The rooms are bright and it seems they are cleaned daily. There is air conditioning throughout and floor fans available for use. Two bathrooms w/ showers helped to prevent long waits. It was a comfortable place to rest one's head after a long, hot day.
Breakfast waffles were good served with butter, Wal-mart syrup, and fresh fruit (bananas, blueberries, and strawberries), whipped cream, and minute maid orange juice. Our clan washed the dishes and put them away. So maybe this is where hostel blurs with the bed and breakfast portion of the property.
We needed to store our backpacks for a couple of hours until a room we had reserved at another location was available. We asked if we could keep them there and at first were told we could take them to the AT center 0.5 miles away. This would mean we walk the packs there and then walk them back another half mile to our new location when the Teahorse was literally around the corner from where we needed to go. Laurel reluctantly allowed us to keep our bags on the property. This was not only our impression of the conversation but from a couple of other guests as well.
Not sure what else is available in the area, but should we return, we would definitely explore other options. At this price range, we are certain few of the young thru hikers we encountered would pay this amount. We stayed at other hostels for far less and had a warmer welcome, free laundry, free shuttles into town, and caretakers that provided loads of information. We were happy to give extra tips to these folks for their hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Yes, our guests wash out their own plate, silverware and cup following breakfast - this is in sync with usual hostel rules. No one has ever complained about it or made a sarcastic comment about it.

At $32 plus tax per person for bed, shower and waffle breakfast, we feel we offer an exceptional bargain in Harpers Ferry.

Hikers frequently leave their backpacks at my hostel when they go to DC for the day or are walking around town - there is no problem doing this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I did a 5 day backpacking hike front Front Royal up to Harpers Ferry. Spend first and last nights at this hostel. Laurel's hospitality and low key character were helpful, and so was shuttle service for free around town. The place is clean, has 3 different sleeping areas, is quiet is close enough to a few simple restaurants and a few blocks from basic 7-11 store. 1 free computer downstairs, and laundry for $5. Breakfast is wholesome and filling fresh fruit, bananas, waffles, juice and coffee. Lots of thru hikers and some section hikers stayed there. Would definitely stay again, and I do recommend it to others. Keep it up Laurel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We were glad to host you for more than one night as your group of three hiked around Harpers Ferry. Hope you get to do that thru-hike one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Can't say enough about our experience. You are our hero for going out of your way for us.... Excellent service and great place to lay your head. Tire blow out and no place open, thanks to Laurel who came to our rescue! !! Jean and Anne

Room Tip: I never stayed at a hostel before, all in all it was a great experience. will stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
You ladies are the brave ones - to be out in the weather that you were in! Take care and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Laruel was again wonderful to work with. She provided our family with a shuttle to our starting point for our backpacking trip on the Appalachian Trail. Her hospitality and attention translate to her business. We highly recommend her to anyone. You will not be dissapointed in her hostel or her shuttle services.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Laurel picked up three weary, muddy, foul-smelling cyclists from the C&O canal towpath (me & 2 friends) and chauffeured us to the hostel. She was a lifesaver, and that was just the beginning. Comfortable, clean, and a great breakfast. We slept like babies, and woke ready for another 50+ mile day on the path. The Tea Horse is great, and Laurel is very special.

Room Tip: We had the 3-bed downstairs room and it was quiet, no stairs to climb, easy access to the street, ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Your group of three were a delight to host! Thank you for choosing the Teahorse for your night's rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here to end our trip on the C & O towpath and ended up using Laurel's Shuttle Service back to our car. Not only was she kind and helpful, but her accommodations were excellent. Very clean and comfortable..she sets the standard. Added bonus, of course, waffles with orange juice and fruit for breakfast hit the spot in the morning. Highly recommend the Teahorse Hostel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We enjoyed having you both! Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family was hiking the Maryland section of the Appalachian Trail over spring break. We arrived at Laurel's lovely hostel after driving in from Cincinnati. This was my children's first experience staying in one. After a great nights sleep in a clean and comfortable guest room we woke up to a great breakfast of waffles, fruit, juice and coffee. Laurel then drove us in our car to Pen Mar park where we began our hike back to Harpers Ferry. We then were able to hike from Pen Mar to the Tea Horse Hostel where Laurel had our care waiting for us.

We really had a fantastic time at this hostel and it was a great start to our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I remember hearing about the other travels that your family has been on - you guys are not strangers to adventure. Thank you for writing. Come back next time to hike northern Virginia on the AT!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Teahorse B&B / Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teahorse B&B / Hostel

Address: 1312 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teahorse Hostel - we are a B&B and hostel for hikers on the AT, bicyclists on the C&O towpath, and other visitors to Harpers Ferry. Rent by the room or rent by the bed. Rest in our spotless hostel, take a shower, meet other hikers and bicyclists, cook your own food in the kitchen or dine in nearby restaurants. * Located one half mile west from the Appalachian Trail Conservancy in Harpers Ferry * Waffle breakfast included! * Fully equipped kitchen * Laundry ($5 per load - we supply detergent) * Common area * Wi-Fi and computer with internet free to guests * Outside patio * Two blocks from 7-11 * Locked storage for bikes * Parking behind the hostel * mail drops- free to guests; $2 per package otherwise * ask about shuttles in DC/MD/VA/PA/WV area * sorry, no pets or smoking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teahorse B&B / Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Teahorse B&B / Hostel to your Saves list