We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teahorse B&B/Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teahorse B&B / Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teahorse B&B / Hostel
Save
You added Teahorse B&B / Hostel to your Saves list
1312 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Ellicott City Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Teahorse B&B/Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed here two nights to enjoy the Old Tyme Christmas weekend in Dec. and I am so very glad I did. This was such a pleasant experience from beginning to end. The owner is Laurel and her hostel is very,very clean. A very well stocked kitchen.Each morning Laurel makes great waffels, fruit, very good coffee and comversation. .The 1st night there were 3 other guests whom I enjoyed, 2nd night I was alone. I had my car(parking in yard) but Laurel will drive you.The rates seemed ok,I am new to hosteling so I don't know. I just know that as a woman traveling alone I felt safe and comfortable at the Teahorse Hostel. Not one single thing to complain about,.I had a great time and will be happy to visit again. Thank you Laurel for making me feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
I enjoyed those conversations too! Glad that you enjoyed your stay - come again! -- Laurel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This was actually my first hostel experience and I was very pleased. The rooms were on the 2nd floor--one side for women, one side for men with a common kitchen and living room. The rooms and bathroom were very clean. The men had their own bathroom and the women's bathroom was just outside the door of the women's room. Laurel was very accommodating with our breakfast hours and we loved the waffles in the morning. We passed the time in the evening playing banagrams with the scrabble game that was on the shelf. The bikes were safe in the locked shed behind the house. Laurel offered a free shuttle to pick us up from the C&O canal trail. We figured it wasn't too far and we said we'd get there on our own---that was our mistake. Definitely take the shuttle. It's about a mile uphill to the hostel. There are a couple of restaurants near the hostel. Anyway, it was great. Highly recommended. We enjoyed chatting with the other travelers during breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teahorse_Hostel, Owner at Teahorse B&B / Hostel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
I am so happy that you were pleased with your experience at Teahorse B&B / Hostel. Breakfast is also my favorite time listening to the lively conversation between the guests who are hikers on the Appalachian Trail and guests who are bicyclists on the C&O Towpath. Thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed here Monday evening as I wanted to check out Harpers Ferry National Park. They are very close to the park (maybe a three or four minute drive) and within walking distance of a nice little coffee shop and some really beautiful hiking trails. They offer only dorm style accommodations, but as I was the only female staying that night I got the womens dorm to myself. The bunk beds are fine for the price ($32 a night) and the owner is very nice. A breakfast of coffee, orange juice and waffles is included. If you are looking for a cheap, clean and safe place to stay along the Appalachian Trail, I would definitely recommend The Teahorse Hostel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

A very welcoming, clean hostel with a great waffle/fresh fruit breakfast and use of a well-equipped kitchen. The owner went beyond the call of duty in driving guests around and repairing their gear. I truly enjoyed the company of the other bikers and hikers. Plus no lock-out during the day if you choose to spend some time exploring the history rich area of Harper's Ferry. One of the better hostels, I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here at the very beginning of a distance hike on the Appalachian Trail.

The owner is very enthusiastic about her new hostel and I definitely felt very welcome and at home. Just a little pricey for a hostel, but certainly within reason, plus you get access to a full kitchen! Very very clean, so a welcome break from many of the other hostels on the trail!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teahorse B&B / Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teahorse B&B / Hostel

Address: 1312 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teahorse Hostel - we are a B&B and hostel for hikers on the AT, bicyclists on the C&O towpath, and other visitors to Harpers Ferry. Rent by the room or rent by the bed. Rest in our spotless hostel, take a shower, meet other hikers and bicyclists, cook your own food in the kitchen or dine in nearby restaurants. * Located one half mile west from the Appalachian Trail Conservancy in Harpers Ferry * Waffle breakfast included! * Fully equipped kitchen * Laundry ($5 per load - we supply detergent) * Common area * Wi-Fi and computer with internet free to guests * Outside patio * Two blocks from 7-11 * Locked storage for bikes * Parking behind the hostel * mail drops- free to guests; $2 per package otherwise * ask about shuttles in DC/MD/VA/PA/WV area * sorry, no pets or smoking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teahorse B&B / Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.