We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventure Inn - Historic Home with Hot Tub, close

Great Room with dining table and huge fireplace with gas logs
Great Room with dining table and huge fireplace with gas logs
Great Room with dining table and huge fireplace with gas logs
huge stone fireplace in great room with leather sofas
View of of the Potomac River from Jefferson Rock about 2 miles from home
Front of House
400 sq ft private rear deck with 6 person hot tub and seating for 10
Harpers Ferry
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peter B
Exminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This is a great vacation home in an excellent location, with just a couple of minor niggles that can be fixed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed as a party of ten extended family members for a week at the end of August, and over all it was an excellent experience. The booking process was very simple, on line, with quick and speedy interaction and helpful information.

Checking in was simple and straightforward, but plan to arrive at or after 4pm, as they have a cleaning crew in until then. The house was very clean and we got a simple and helpful guided tour from Liz, the rep from River Rafters (two doors down).

I only downgraded to four stars because there are some simple things that could be done that would make things much more comfortable for visitors who stay for a week or more. These are things like nightstands in the second king bed room, towel rails/hooks in each bedroom, mirrors in the downstairs and bunk bedroom. There is also some minor maintenance that needs attending to, such as a broken support on one king bed, a loose board in the hearth surround, some drain cleaner needed in the upstairs shower, and a cheap ironing board that is difficult to erect or collapse.

But these are minor niggles, and I would heartily recommend this house for an extended family gathering such as we had, with River Rafters just up the road, a really nice big hot tub, two reception areas and a well fitted kitchen. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Lots of space, hot tub, location
Liked least: Some minor maintenance niggles.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lovetovay...
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place near everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This is a beautiful house. Walking distance to River Riders tubing rentals. The house was very clean, fully equipped, nice large spaces. There were two full bathrooms....large hot tub....towels, linens, nice furniture. We also had a large bonfire in the yard that opens up to a huge field....lots of privacy. Plenty of space for a reunion or birthday celebration. It's also walkable to a really big flea market open on Saturdays and Sundays.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The large living room with fireplace, large dining room table, great for everyone to gather comfortably.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
TrekkerPl...
Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect lodging - when can we go back? :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Customer service was personal and very attentive - we could not have asked for more. The house is GORGEOUS! It was clean, VERY comfortable, and even with 8 of us there, no-one ever felt crowded. Having a thermostat in every room is just one example of the thoughtfulness that went into the renovations. There are games, puzzles and toys for little ones! Even though the house is located about a minute off of Route 340, the surroundings felt like you were out in the country.

We cannot say enough about how much we loved this place!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Large rooms, plenty of space with 8 of us in the house.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
baltimore
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Baltimore Maryland
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The View of the Mountains
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 18-24
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$300
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Laura K
Speaks English
Listed since : Jan 2011
Response Rate: 65 %
Response Time: More than a week
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing