We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but some concerns” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Armory Quarters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armory Quarters
1193 Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location but some concerns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at the Armory Quarters with my husband and our dog for our anniversary weekend in late June 2013. We wanted to spend time at Harpers Ferry National Park and this seemed like a great option as it is only a 5 minute drive from the park. Our rate was $150 per night + tax which was reasonable given the location and pet-friendliness.

Now to the negatives - there was a lot of dust and debris (dead bugs) under the bed - my dog started to sniff as soon as we got into the room and I made the mistake of looking under there - wish I hadn't! We arrived late in the day, had a pleasant dinner at the Canal House Cafe and then made our way back to our room. It was dark at this point and not one lamp or lighting fixture was working! It was a rough first night trying to maneuver in the dark. We were able to plug in a lamp the next morning but it would have been nice to come into a property prepared room. Final comment - be prepared to BYO toiletries such as soap, shampoo, etc. I was told that the accommodations did not include breakfast but I've never heard of a place beyond a campground not having basic bars of soap and mini shampoo bottles!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for three nights May 30 to June 2 of 2013. Tremendous value, very well maintained property, immaculately clean, you can tell from the many notes on how to work things to the welcome basket filled with "things you might forget (like sunscreen)", that the owners the Gauthiers really know how to maintain a rental house.

You walk in, there is a small living area with cable, wifi, and books ... Well equipped kitchen. Upstairs on the second floor is a bedroom with a double bed, very clean and well maintained ( and provisioned) bathroom. Third floor bedroom has two twin beds. All bedrooms have Air Conditioning.

My 13-year old son was a little freaked out to sleep upstairs by himself so we just pulled the simple futon mattress into my bedroom and he slept on the floor, which was a ver reasonable accommodation and he said he slept great.

House is centrally located in Harper's Ferry. 7-11 is right up the street.

Tremendous value and great property!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed in the "Armory Quarters" property in early February 2013 and loved it. Its within walking distance of everything Harpers Ferry has to offer. Across the street is the Canal House Cafe, which specializes in serving natural, homemade cuisine. When I got there, there was firewood stacked on the inside and outside of the house so keeping warm via wood stove was no problem, but the owners also offer plenty of electric space heaters in case you don't want to build a fire. This vacation rental also comes with a washer and drier and a fully stocked kitchen. The master bedroom contains a comfortable queen size bed and upstairs is a perfect size room if you are travelling with children that contains two twin beds. There is also a futon on the first floor by the fireplace. If you stay there when the weather is warmer be sure to enjoy the rocking chairs on the front porch. I had a wonderful stay there and would certainly recommend this vacation rental to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed at the Burrell House (one of the properties just around the corner and under the same management as the armory quarters) with my girlfriends after a winery tour a couple weeks ago. It was cozy and charming. The house is beautiful and there is plenty of space for up to 6 (with 2 sleeping on the pull-out in the living room. It's also dog-friendly, which was nice for us so we could bring the pup :)

I had no problem getting in touch with the reservationist who was helpful and pleasant.

There is space for a fire outside, but it was a bit chilly so we used the gas fireplace. We had a tough time getting it lit and called the owner. Literally within minutes of getting off the phone there was a knock on the door and a nice gentleman lit it for us.

As an aside, I also stayed at the Armory Quarters with my Husband a few weeks prior and that place was small and cozy as well. It is heated by a woodstove (the heat doesnt seem to work quite right) so you should bring some extra blankets and warm socks if you visit in the winter! Good times! We will be back, for sure. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband, 4 year old son and I stayed in the armory quarters for the weekend for my birthday. The lodgings are great. There was wood cut and stacked outside for the woodstove. The house was very clean. The unit has a washer and dryer for use and a well stocked kitchen. There is a foldout futon style couch in the living room that was comfy as the hubby and I slept on it the second night to be next to the fire. The bedroom has a nice bed and tv but no cable, so bring dvds. The attic upstairs has 2 twin beds and is perfect for kids but may be a bit tight for adults, in my opinion if 2 couples, stay in living room. There us also a pack n play for use. We loved staying here and would stay again. The only downside was the service. When trying to book it was impossiblte to get a hold of anyone, also when trying to get booking confirmation. So sad cause its a great place if you can ever get through to book.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I had to stay at this property after I had already settled into another property under the same management because of an overbooking. Originally I was to stay in their B&B, the Ledgehouse, and was told that wasn't an option after I arrived, so I was shuffled to another property for 3 days, and then I had to move to the Armory.

The Armory is a historic house with historic and somewhat weird character. It's in a quiet location and has the basic amenities, but it's nothing to get excited about. What I found disappointing was the hassle of moving when the expectation was that I was to be at the B&B for the entire week. I never did get a breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Poor service/information from property owners. Property was booked as overnight stay for two with separate bedrooms. Second bedroom is a tiny attic,with single beds and a noisy AC unit (admittedly better than no AC unit). Would not stay again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
Best Value, Fre...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
5.8 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 5 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Free Parking, F...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Free internet...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Knights Inn Knoxville MD
Knights Inn Knoxville MD
#1 of 1 in Knoxville
3.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armory Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armory Quarters

Address: 1193 Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Harpers Ferry
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Armory Quarters in town of Harpers Ferry, WV. Dog Friendly. Surrounded by Harpers Ferry National Park. Restaurants, shops, and battlefields within walking distance. Wineries within six miles. Hollywood Casino and Charles Town Races five miles. Great location for history buffs, outdoor enthusiasts, gamers, white water rafting, fishing, antiquing. Great for biking the C&O Canal. Sleeps four comfortably. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armory Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Armory Quarters to your Saves list