We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Canal House
1226 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
+1 304-535-2880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Historic Canal House Cafe. Where the locals gather and visitors are always welcome! Located in a charming 1820s stone house in historic in Harpers Ferry-Bolivar, WV, Canal House Cafe serves awesome, fresh, delicious, local food in a friendly and casual atmosphere. The restaurant offers simple, creative dishes including vegetarian and gluten free options. Please BYOB.
Knoxville, Maryland
1 review
“New Management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I loved the old Canal House, so I was very happy to see that the new management is carrying on the tradition of fresh, local, healthy food service. The dining area has been reconfigured and is very pleasant. I ordered a veggie sandwich on gluten-free bread. The bread was not on the menu but the chef was happy to accommodate my request. My lunch was delicious and I felt really good about it. Our waiter was very personable and the service was excellent. My friend also enjoyed her lunch very much.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    48
    27
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Small farm to table restaurant Wonderful fresh food served with a helpful and knowledgable staff. A real find and to make it even better the prices are great.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Local thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

First visit since owners changed; coworker recommended so we took our guest and we were all pleased. Friendly, quick service at lunch. Yummy food. I had their pasta special; flavorful and different. Others had the blt and john brown--and liked them. Easy checkout. I'll be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“THE place for foodies, best of year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were actually shocked by the unique and amazing mix of flavors this master chef concocted. The hummus was unique and delicious--nothing like we ever had before. The quinoa salad was a fantastic mix of sweet and sour flavors. Delicious. The main course was a green pepper stuffed with white beans and rice with a touch of spicy heat that was quenched with an amazing grape-based sauce. The mash potatoes were perfect as were the green beans. They buy local and organic and the make everything fresh. If you live within 200 miles, make a special trip. If you are riding the C&O trail like we are, all riders should plan a stop here and eat at the canal house.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
878 reviews 878 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“No wonder it's #1!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband took me here for lunch today, and we very much enjoyed our entire experience. Food was excellent, outdoor seating was perfect, and service was friendly and kind! They get many of their ingredients from local shops or farms, which I always like to see. Definitely try it out, but be sure of the hours before you go, as it seems days and hours change seasonally.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal House also viewed

 
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.