We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific salad and ice cream!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Canal House
1226 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304-535-2880
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert
Description: Historic Canal House CafeWhere the locals gather and visitors are always welcome!Located in a charming 1820s stone house in historic in Harpers Ferry–Bolivar, WV, Canal House Cafe serves awesome, fresh, delicious, local food in a friendly and casual atmosphere. The restaurant offers simple, creative dishes including vegetarian choices. Visitors especially love our home-made bread and ice cream from a local creamery. Please BYOB.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Terrific salad and ice cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped in for a later night snack before heading to our lodgings for the night and just had the Roasted Fruit Salad -- it knocked our socks off. REALLY great salad for six bucks. The ice cream is made at a nearby Amish Farm and we got ample portions for $3.50. Terrific service and wonderful environment.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    50
    34
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I came here twice during Labor Day weekend. We ordered primarily seafood dishes, which were all terrific in terms of quality of ingredients (mostly local and organic) and preparation. The menu changes daily so it's hard to make specific recommendations, but it's well worth the trip if you're in the neighborhood. Lastly, the decor is quite charming and makes for a relaxing evening, particularly after a day of hiking or outdoor activity.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Second trip - food as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had lunch; started with a delicious soup - tomato with italian sausage & black beans, served with fresh baked bread. Next we ordered sandwiches - turkey w/swiss again served on fresh baked bread with a touch of dijion; the turkey was so moist. Came with an interesting & tasty side dish that had lentils, beans, and other vegetables that were combined and seasoned perfectly. Large portions, we shared the soup and bread and I took home 1/2 of my turkey sandwich & side dish. I only wish I had room to try the desserts! Maybe next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice little local joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I came here for our anniversary meal and the staff was exceptionally friendly. Everything is locally sourced, the menu changes daily and best of all - BYOB!

The only thing is we felt the chicken was really dry... but that may be because the chef has to learn a new menu daily? Overall it was a nice evening.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Little Restaurant with Great Healthy/Local Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Perfect Little Restaurant with Great Healthy/Local Options. Only 4 or 5 options on the menu each cost $9.00 but all delicious!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal House also viewed

 

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.