We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice portion of very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cannonball Deli

Cannonball Deli
148 High St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304-535-1762
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice portion of very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The restaurant doesn't look like much, but the food was delicious and plentiful. I had the lamb gyro served in a pita with a side salad and it was delicious. My friend ordered a cheeseburger, which I though would have been a mistake, but I actually envied his selection.

Well worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    16
    22
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The fact that this is the #2 ranked restaurant in Harper's Ferry on here says a lot about the sad set of choices diners are faced with in this historic, yet gastronomically-challenged town. Maybe it's better when you can sit outside on a sunny day, but we had to sit inside on a cold damp autumn day and it was depressing. A "0" for ambience. How about at least scrubbing the toilet and sink in the men's room once a month or so, and putting a roll of paper towels in there? The food was not bad . . . for what one might expect from a school cafeteria. But let's not fool anyone into thinking this place is anything more than a 3 or 4 on a 10-point scale. And it is NOT a good value unless you consider $47 for one adult and two kids for a late lunch a good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, NJ, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well-rounded lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good gyros and French dip sandwich. Each came with a salad that made this meal not just tasty but well-rounded.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Don't Let The Exterior Fool You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This restaurant is on High Street. If you are touring Harpers Ferry on foot then there is no need for a car.

Do not let the outside of the establishment turn you off in to entering. It is easy to miss since it is sort of below street level. You have to walk down several steps. Like previous writers mentioned, if dining on the back patio, they will take you for a short walk through the kitchen. An outdoor staircase leads to the patio level with large potted plants and assorted tables. (PS-You can enter the patio/deck via the street in the back. It requires only one step up but you will have to let them know that you are out there.) Dining area inside is small and has little ambiance. It will not appeal to those looking for that "historic" Harper's Ferry flavor. That aside, on to the food.

We ordered a beef and a vegetable quesadilla. They came with a side salad made of romaine lettuce with tomatoes, olives, etc. The quesadillas were huge! Visualize a 12 inch plate and fold it in half. THAT was the size of the quesadillas filled with goodies and covered with melted cheese on the outside. (Different, but yummy!) We should have ordered a single meal because neither one of us could finish our choices. Cost was $9.99 each. My husband ordered a side of curly fries that were seasoned and crisp and really not necessary because we had to leave a portion of those behind, also. Our total bill with tax and tip was $23.18. A bit on the high side for lunch, but you have to realize as with all tourist sites, you are a captive audience so to speak. Up the street snow cones were selling for $3.75 each and that is just ice and syrup.

Robbie was our server and he was very helpful and attentive. No complaints there! We always had fresh water, napkins, etc.

We would definitely dine there again, but sample something different. Many things on the menu looked inviting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A friend and I went in search of ice cream after lunch and found this place. It was a bit dingy and old and initially reminded me of 1970s decor, which made it kinda quaint. We ordered two ice cream cones with two scoops each. The prices were great for the amount of ice cream we got (nice large portions per scoop!). The only thing that spoiled the event was the roach I saw crawling up the wall in the counter area behind the service booth; made me check the cherries in my ice cream carefully. We decided to take our ice cream outside and walk around. The cones attracted other visitors looking for a quick treat. Hopefully the bug issue was a one-time thing and not a pervasive problem. The servers were nice and the ice cream worth going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannonball Deli also viewed

 
Harpers Ferry, WV
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Been to Cannonball Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannonball Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.