We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Way Mark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian Trail Conference Headquarters

Appalachian Trail Conference Headquarters
799 Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304.535.6331
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Convention Centers
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The 'psychological half- way point' on the Appalachaian Trail: rest up, share your adventures, and eat lots of ice cream.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Half Way Mark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

A must stop . . . whether you are hiking the AT or just passing through the Harpers Ferry area. In the summer we saw a mixture of hikers and area visitors. In the winter, it is a warm haven while walking down into Harpers Ferry.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Whether it's a pilgrimage, or a quick stop, don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Whether you're hiking all 2000+ miles of the AT, or just want some insight into one of the world's most famous hiking trails, this is the place to come. From the ATC Headquarters, the care of the entire trail is coordinated.

They have a small, but informative display about the AT, the highlight of which is a large 3D topo map of the entire trail from Maine to Georgia. There is a hiker lounge is the back where you can flip through volumes of people who are trying to hike the whole thing, either all at once, or in pieces. If you backpack in, you even have the option of adding yourself to the book, even if you plan on taking 80 years to do it (hey, that's only 28 miles a year!).

The bookstore/gift shop is top notch - maps and guidebooks for every section of the AT to a plethora of AT Thru-Hiker Memoirs to t-shirts!

The folks that work there are always friendly and helpful. I've seen them take the time out to talk to Boy Scouts (thanks for letting us invade your store), to answer questions about where to go hiking nearby or far away, help iron out a hike plan, or to simply find out where you've been so far and what it was like. It's been a great experience every time I've gone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appling, Georgia
2 reviews
“Meeting Our AT Thru-Hikers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Everyone who works here is great! Very friendly and helpful. I especially loved being able to share drinks and snacks with my own thru-hikers and some others who were there!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Appalachian Trail Headquarters - very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I hiked our very first section of the Appalachian Trail in Harpers Ferry and couldn't pass by a visit to the headquarters. We were greeted just as enthusiastically as if we were through hikers! We were offered water, use of their lounge, snacks...very sweet! They have an amazing collection of maps and books...we bought one of the narrow vertical maps of the whole traIl and now have several push pins in it of the sections of the trail we've hiked. The little town of Harpers Ferry is a great combination with several short sections of the AT.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Interesting to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stopped in to see info about the Appalachian Trail and there was a lot to see and learn about the trail.They had lots of pictures a shelter like ones on the trail,there was 2 hikers there looking at photos while on there way hiking the whole trail.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Trail Conference Headquarters also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian Trail Conference Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian Trail Conference Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.