We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hiker headquarters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian Trail Conference Headquarters

Appalachian Trail Conference Headquarters
799 Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304.535.6331
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Convention Centers
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The 'psychological half- way point' on the Appalachaian Trail: rest up, share your adventures, and eat lots of ice cream.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“hiker headquarters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Fun to visit with the volunteers and read about other long-distance hikers. This is the Holy Grail for backpackers

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We passed thru HQ on our hike from Georgia to Maine,we were early in the season and we were met at the door with hot fresh muffins baked by one of the volunteers that staff the HQ's, with lots of info and offers for shuttles we left on our trek and finished our hike with fund memories of our morning in Harpers Ferry

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If You're Interested in the Appalachian Trail, Worth a Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Not lots to see but still interesting to look at some of the testimonial posters of through hikers on the AT, plus the volumes of photo books for people who stopped through the ATC HQ on their way North or South. Nice people. We also took time to look at a National Geographic video on the AT while there--very worthwhile to see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, NJ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable and helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The staff know a lot about those who have walked on the Appalachian Trail and are familiar with all of the material for sale in the store. They even gave me book reviews for written accounts of those who have walked on the trail. There is internet access for trail walkers who don't have any other way of connecting with the rest of the world.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“must stop here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very informative staff. Great to talk with hikers who may be in there - if available, smell the AT scented candle - and I dare you not to take 1 home!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Trail Conference Headquarters also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian Trail Conference Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian Trail Conference Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.