We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Identity crisis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harpers Ferry National Historical Park

Harpers Ferry National Historical Park
171 Shoreline Drive, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
+1 304-535-6298
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, National Parks, Nature & Parks, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: Hiking, White-water rafting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Harpers Ferry National Historical Park is indeed one of the crown jewels in the National Park Service. Covering over 4,000 acres in 3 states (WV, VA and MD) at the scenic confluence of the Shenandoah and Potomac rivers and the Potomac River water gap through the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Park features an amazing diversity of American History all in one place: Great figures such as George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, John Brown, Frederick Douglass, Robert E. Lee, U.S. Grant, "Stonewall" Jackson, JEB Stuart, Philip Sheridan, W.E.B. Du Bois, Kate Field and many others swirl around Harpers Ferry like a whirlwind! The C&O Canal National Park, Appalachian National Scenic Trail and the Potomac Heritage National Scenic Trail all converge at Harpers Ferry NHP. Twenty miles of hiking trails in the Park offer more than a one weekend getaway. Local private businesses offer whitewater rafting, tubing, fishing and many outdoor activities, along with dining and overnight accommodations. Come visit beautiful Harpers Ferry National Historical Park and be swept away by the mountains, the rivers and the history for a visit you and your family will long remember!
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Identity crisis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This attraction is trying to be a revolutionary war site, an antebellum/abolision site, a civil war site, and a modern-day tourist trap. You can't park in Lower Town, but the shuttle bus is fine. Jefferson Rock was much smaller than I expected, but it was pretty cool. Tip on finding Jefferson Rock: head up High Street and you'll see stone steps on the left which will take you up to the rock. The hike across the bridge over the Potomac River is a little boring, but at least I can say I've been on the Appalachian Trail.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    139
    28
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
On the open sea
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Grest day trip from DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A beautiful drive between DC and Harpers Ferry through farmland dotted with vineyards.

Recommend you take the walk from the visitor center down to the lower town and enjoy the river and the ruins of the previous mills. Town is very interesting and presented nicely. Don't miss Jefferson's Rock!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice park and experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Harpers Ferry, WV, has a small historic district which presents a real parking challenge. The Park Service provides a great shuttle from the Visitors Center, on the top of the hill a mile or two away from the historic district, right into the heart of things and on a continuous loop. The shuttle buses have a 2-bike rack on the front, so that my husband and I were able to ride from parking ($10/day) at the Visitors Center down into town. We were told we weren't allowed to ride bikes down the hill on the main road into town (?? don't know why??). But it was a good way to go as we would not have wanted to ride up that hill to return to our car at the end of the day! The main street of the town was all museums--well done and lots of rangers and park people to help and answer questions. Also park employees dressed up in period costumes to help present the period of Harpers Ferry's important years in our country's history. The side streets going up the hill have lots of shops and, cafes and ice cream places.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“John Brown museum, other museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very well done displays, videos, and historically accurate rooms/settings about the Civil War and one of it's most famous characters, John Brown. Great for history buffs

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Maryland Heights overlook is worth the climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went for a favorite hike up the Maryland Heights cliff overlook trail. It is a well groomed trail, but its a lot of up hill, so know that you will sweat and breath hard. Bring water. The view at the topic is worth lingering for - historic Harper's Ferry, intersection of the Shenandoah and Potomac rivers. In the summer, you will see people tubing, rafting, and kayaking below you. This year I also saw some rock climbers on adjacent rock faces - very cool.

I have done this hike in all seasons and enjoy it every time. Trail and park are dog friendly. I was also able to take my dog to a local restaurant (patio seating).

To park for more than 2 hours in Harper's Ferry, you have to pay $10 to the national park service. On a nice summer day, the traffic gets heavy by 10am or so. Worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpers Ferry National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpers Ferry National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.