We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Definate Excursion in Harpers Ferry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian National Scenic Trail

Appalachian National Scenic Trail
Harpers Ferry Center, 799 Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304-535-6331
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Very long hiking trail spanning over 2,100 miles and 14 states.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
289 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Definate Excursion in Harpers Ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Much more than we expected from the outstanding service at the Appalachian Conservancy to the historic plaques that marked the various sites along the trail. The wooded cliff walk by Jefferson's Rock was quite exhilarating and views incredible. Worth a day trip and a stop at a local tavern is a great way to end the tour.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebo, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Premier Hiking Trail of the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Regardless if you’re a genuine thru-hiker or a seasonal section hiker, the Appalachian Trail has to be one of America’s outdoor treasures. 2176 miles of continuous trail from Springer Mountain in northern Georgia, through 14 states terminating atop Katahadin in Maine, are an outdoor adventureist dream comes true. Hikers from all over the world travel to the United States to trek the trail beginning in February and normally finishing by late September or early October. For those who couplet the journey, they are forever changed in body and spirit. It is truly a national treasure, something worth maintaining and nurturing for the years to come.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
938 reviews
402 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
“First steps lead to more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

While we were in Harpers Ferry enjoying all that's there we took a brief walk on the AT after visiting the AT Conservancy offices. We walked the trail through town, over the pedestrian bridge and a bit further. Then yesterday we drove to Middletown and walked south for a couple of hours before turning back toward our car. The trail is beautifully kept, the woods are quiet and theSun dappling through the trees was enchanting. We were told the Maryland portion is the easiest of all the states' portions and we were thankful. We came across a very nice camping space with bathroom including showers. We met several groups of hikers, most day hikers, like us, but also long term hikers. Some had a thousand miles in from various trips. What a wonderful piece of history. My ancestors traded on that part of the trail coming south from PA and it was great to feel I was on a section they would have passed through.
*Pictures would not get uploaded after 3 tries, sorry.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
Level Contributor
217 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice Trail at least the part that I was on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was in Harpers Ferry and saw that the Appalachian Trail went through the town so I figured I had to go and walk part of it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Short trek on the trail - beautiful and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We try to hop on the trail whenever we get a chance for a short or a long hike, and Harpers Ferry has eluded us for a couple of years, so we made a point of going this spring. It was a beautiful, clear day, breezy over the water, a pleasure. Worth it if you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian National Scenic Trail also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian National Scenic Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian National Scenic Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.