We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First steps lead to more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian National Scenic Trail

Appalachian National Scenic Trail
Harpers Ferry Center, 799 Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304-535-6331
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Trails
Activities: Hiking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Very long hiking trail spanning over 2,100 miles and 14 states.
Wilton, California
Top Contributor
690 reviews 690 reviews
245 attraction reviews
Reviews in 290 cities Reviews in 290 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
“First steps lead to more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

While we were in Harpers Ferry enjoying all that's there we took a brief walk on the AT after visiting the AT Conservancy offices. We walked the trail through town, over the pedestrian bridge and a bit further. Then yesterday we drove to Middletown and walked south for a couple of hours before turning back toward our car. The trail is beautifully kept, the woods are quiet and theSun dappling through the trees was enchanting. We were told the Maryland portion is the easiest of all the states' portions and we were thankful. We came across a very nice camping space with bathroom including showers. We met several groups of hikers, most day hikers, like us, but also long term hikers. Some had a thousand miles in from various trips. What a wonderful piece of history. My ancestors traded on that part of the trail coming south from PA and it was great to feel I was on a section they would have passed through.
*Pictures would not get uploaded after 3 tries, sorry.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wv
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice Trail at least the part that I was on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was in Harpers Ferry and saw that the Appalachian Trail went through the town so I figured I had to go and walk part of it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Short trek on the trail - beautiful and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We try to hop on the trail whenever we get a chance for a short or a long hike, and Harpers Ferry has eluded us for a couple of years, so we made a point of going this spring. It was a beautiful, clear day, breezy over the water, a pleasure. Worth it if you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“First time on the trail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We tried to do some hiking on the trail up in Delaware Water Gap on our honeymoon but did not prevail, this time the B&B we stayed at was literally four blocks from it, so we had no excuses. We hiked down the section by Harper's Ferry cemetery and Jefferson Rock into town, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. They take very good care of the section here, enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Go for a short hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We live near the Appalachian Trail, where it crosses South Mountain near Middletown, MD. It's an easy thing to drive up to South Mountain Inn on Alternate Rte 40, park across the street from the Inn, put your hiking shoes on, take some water, and set out north on the Trail. There is a neat stone tower nearby that provides great views, and you can walk as little or as much as you wish. This is a terrific outing with small children, because you can climb the tower, try out the Trail, and get back to your car when they get tired. And of course you get to see the REAL hikers going by, laden with huge backpacks.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian National Scenic Trail also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian National Scenic Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian National Scenic Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Appalachian National Scenic Trail to your Saves list