We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Trail at least the part that I was on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian National Scenic Trail

Appalachian National Scenic Trail
Harpers Ferry Center, 799 Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304-535-6331
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Trails
Activities: Hiking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Very long hiking trail spanning over 2,100 miles and 14 states.
wv
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Trail at least the part that I was on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was in Harpers Ferry and saw that the Appalachian Trail went through the town so I figured I had to go and walk part of it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Short trek on the trail - beautiful and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We try to hop on the trail whenever we get a chance for a short or a long hike, and Harpers Ferry has eluded us for a couple of years, so we made a point of going this spring. It was a beautiful, clear day, breezy over the water, a pleasure. Worth it if you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“First time on the trail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We tried to do some hiking on the trail up in Delaware Water Gap on our honeymoon but did not prevail, this time the B&B we stayed at was literally four blocks from it, so we had no excuses. We hiked down the section by Harper's Ferry cemetery and Jefferson Rock into town, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. They take very good care of the section here, enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go for a short hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We live near the Appalachian Trail, where it crosses South Mountain near Middletown, MD. It's an easy thing to drive up to South Mountain Inn on Alternate Rte 40, park across the street from the Inn, put your hiking shoes on, take some water, and set out north on the Trail. There is a neat stone tower nearby that provides great views, and you can walk as little or as much as you wish. This is a terrific outing with small children, because you can climb the tower, try out the Trail, and get back to your car when they get tired. And of course you get to see the REAL hikers going by, laden with huge backpacks.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hike to Weverton Cliffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you get a chance, visit the Appalachian Trail Center in Harpers Ferry and get information to do a day hike on the Appalachian Trail. We did a 10 mile (5 miles there and 5 back) to the Weverton Cliffs in Maryland which give you an aerial view of the Potomac. it was a beautiful flat walk along the C&O canal for part of it and then a moderate climb up a mountain. The view made it worth the trip. There is no charge, but you can make a donation at the center (we became members for $35 which goes toward upkeep of the trail).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian National Scenic Trail also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian National Scenic Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian National Scenic Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.