We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the must-do in Harpers Ferry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment

O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment
Thomas Hall, St. Peter's Catholic Church, 110 Church Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
732 801 0381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Activities in Harpers Ferry
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: O Be Joyfull offers historical tours of Harpers Ferry and historical concerts featuring music from the Civil War and from the Irish. Tours and concerts are entertaining, educational and fun!
Severn, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is the must-do in Harpers Ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

As casual tourists and history seekers, my wife and I have visited numerous historical sites and taken various tours of American history locations. Since we were traveling through Harpers Ferry for a trip West, we decided to take some time to learn about this town. We took Rick's tour and were impressed in every way. Rick is a historical expert on Harpers Ferry and eagerly shared the town's history with us. We thoroughly enjoyed the information and Rick's company. If you want to learn of Harpers Ferry's complete history, this is the tour for you.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    9
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sellersburg, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Rick's tour tells the story of this amazing place. What history it holds, and who would have known? The emphasis for most is on John Brown, but there is sooo much more!! His storytelling and way of sharing the history is very interesting and keeps one interested. It was hard to believe that 3 hours had passed! Everyone should check out "O Be Joyful" tours!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I learned more in 3 hours than I did in school. I dig history and I love to learn. Rick takes this tour to an entirely different level. Rick knows Harper's Ferry as well as the civil war and it shows in his passionate story telling. It was very hard to absorb everything in this 3 plus hour tour. If this tour came with a money back guarantee Rick wouldn't lose 1 cent. Do yourself a favor and step back in time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Historical Story Teller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rick certainly knows his history. The tour is indeed 3 hours, with opportunities to climb up to Jefferson's rock (65 steps up). I did enjoy the history much more than his political commentary. Hat's off to Rick for withstanding the heat and humidity in his period clothes. He provided water, which was sorely needed this day! Rick obviously knows his stuff, just wish he didn't snipe at the National Park Service, and that he'd kept his political views out of the commentary. Everyone has an opinion, but folding yours into the history is an unfair telling. Wish I'd given the park ranger presentations equal time, just to hear the variations on the historical story.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rick Rocks Harper's Ferry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our living history tour with Rick. He kept our 13 year old involved and our 11 year old Civil War buff on his toes. He brought to life the entire history of Harper's Ferry in a way that our whole family could enjoy. Nice picture in the paper on June 22!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment also viewed

 

Been to O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.