We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O be joyful tour of Harper's Ferry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment

O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment
Thomas Hall, St. Peter's Catholic Church, 110 Church Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
732 801 0381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Activities in Harpers Ferry
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: O Be Joyfull offers historical tours of Harpers Ferry and historical concerts featuring music from the Civil War and from the Irish. Tours and concerts are entertaining, educational and fun!
Cloudcroft, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“O be joyful tour of Harper's Ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our visit to Harper Ferry was made so much more meaningful with Rick as our guide! We thoroughly enjoyed our trek around town with Rick explaining "who and what and when" as we walked leisurely along with him. He is knowledgable and FUN!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    9
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Long, but great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went on a nice day in January and Rick was able to accomodate us and a few other people by giving us a tour even though it is Harpers Ferry off season. The website said the tour was 2.5-3 hours long but ours was actually 3.5 hours long. My husband and I knew very little about the history of Harper's Ferry, so it was a very informative tour for us (probably not a good tour for kids though because they will not have that attention span). He goes into great detail about US history in general to get you set up for the history of Harpers Ferry. I liked that he delved into history, culture, religion, politics, etc. so you got the entire picture of what was going on at the time. The only thing we didn't care for is that he voiced his own political, educational, and religious views a little much for our taste. Overall, he is a wonderful story teller and keeps you engaged in the stories by asking you questions. It was getting colder as the day went on, so we visited all of the sights, but did the final stories back at the church. The tour includes St. Peter's Church, Jefferson's Rock, Harper House, then walking around town. After you are done with the tour it is a good idea to go check out some of the National Park museums (that are free) and not included in the tour. Overall, it was a great afternoon and we look forward to coming back in the summer and trying the ghost tour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaplane, VA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a birthday treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I planned a weekend away to Harpers Ferry to celebrate my birthday. Even though early January is not a popular vacation time, Rick Garland was gracious to accomodate the two of us on a fascinating and eye-opening individual tour that lasted almost 4 hours. History becomes truly exciting when explained by Rick, who has such an in-depth knowledge of the area along with a passion for these events. We enjoyed learning about the different perspectives that influenced the events, and were grateful for the additional resources he provided for further information on the topics. A fun highlight was the birthday song he sang to me in the church. How special, and memorable! Highly. highly recommended, and we hope to return for another one of his programs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“STOP what you are doing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Call and make a reservation right now! There is a reason this is the #1 attraction in HF. What a treat. Rick is extremely knowledgeable and isn't shy about his feelings concerning the history of HF. If you want an honest, educational and very enjoyable tour, you will be pleased. It starts out a little slow in his house (but not painfully). But it amps up quickly as you tour about the town. And don't be shy about questions. Rick has an opinion and education about most things HF. I promise you, you will walk away smarter and happier.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice guy, good story teller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went on his ghost tour of Harpers Ferry. It happened to be freezing the night we went. I think it was a good value and he is very nice and entertaining. This is a great thing to do if you need some Harpers Ferry entertainment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment also viewed

 

Been to O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O' Be Joyfull Historical Tours & Entertainment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.