We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
867 W. Washington St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stay here because all other inn's were booked. The room was ok, but we were told we could not take a shower standing up because the water would leak through. Breakfast was a disappointment. The inn is next to a boarded up school that is an eye sore. Our room faced it. There was 2 terry bath robes hanging in the bathroom that had better days. One thing I can say is that the inn was very clean. I

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAnglersInn867, Owner at The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It seems there may have a misunderstanding about the bathtub in the Remington Room where you stayed. This lovely Clawfoot tub is perfect for a relaxing bubble bath. It has a classic Victorian style handheld showerhead to assist in rinsing while seated in the tub. It is not a shower. We take a moment to review this wonderful feature with our guests. If your preference is a shower, we have 3 other guest rooms with shower curtains, designed for a stand up shower. We apologize for any misunderstanding and have addressed your comments with our staff. This is one of our most sought after Guest Rooms due to it’s classically restored 18th Century Victorian features and ambiance…truly a restful step back in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    14
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
108
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Anglers Inn was our first Bed & Breakfast, it has set a high standard for others to follow. Deb was a wonderful host, full of local goings on that included a wonderful living history event of cannon/artillery demos as well as Great recommendations on restaurants (Bistro 112 in Shepherdstown).

My husband and I were in the McKenzie Room, great firm comfortable bed, nice step in shower with wonderful water pressure. I really enjoyed the fresh baked cookies and a cup of hot tea in the afternoon as a nice break between site seeing and getting ready for dinner out.

I really want to compliment Deb on the breakfasts, Pumpkin Pancakes, fresh breads, lots of good coffee, fresh whipped cream for our hot fruit crisps, Spinach Strata. Really a great way to start a day of leisure.

Thanks Deb for helping make our Anniversary weekend special!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Angler's Inn is a delightful and very pleasant place to stay. This B&B was a one-night stopover on a bike trip along the C&O Canal and Great Allegheny Passage.

The bedroom was rustic but very pleasant. Really, it was a terrific stay: when we arrived, the sideboard was stocked with water, soda and beer; and in the morning, we had a delightful meal of warm peach-blackberry cobbler, quiche and date bread. Debbi is a terrific cook.

That being said, it's a B&B in an old house. The furniture was a little creaky -- it was just me but from the sound I might've had a family of four! -- and with the bathroom across the hall one must always be a little careful.

We were on a bike trip but the Angler's Inn is at the top of an absolutely gigantic hill, and I would probably go all-out to stay at the bottom of the hill if I were doing this trip again by bike. This is no knock on the hotel! I just point this out to future cyclists so that they can see it. If you're coming off the C&O Canal trail to Harpers Ferry, you have already unloaded your bike to carry it up the stairs to the bridge that carries the Appalachian Trail over the Potomac River, and as soon as you finally get back on your bike on the West Virginia side, you're faced with a daunting climb up. At Debbi's urging we stored our bikes on the back patio and I didn't worry about safety... but whew, the hill!

If I had a car, though, I'd stay at the Angler's Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed her with my wife for two nights and was a little under whelmed.
Our room, while lovely, had a terrible bed which was a big let down on our visit. Our bathroom also only had a small bath with a notice saying we were not to stand up as water would leak through the ceiling below. To be fair, we were given a discount when we mentioned the bed but it was still disappointing.
The gourmet breakfasts everyone talks about were nice but overrated and more fitting for a lunch - we had a form of quiche on the second day which is a little to heavy in the morning. We also had a warm peach cobbler on day 1 which is more of a dinner desert than a breakfast option. The breakfast table was also a little intimate - those looking for a romantic getaway may be surprised at sitting opposite and beside random people.
The location is only ok as it's a good 25 minutes to H. Ferry but we had been warned of this. You really need a car to go anywhere else. We'd recommend the canal house cafe for dinner - great seasonal food but you'll need to bring your own booze (don't think there was much of a corkage fee).
Nice building, nice rooms but overrated and certain overpriced for what you get. Wealthy DC couple are inflating the price for others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a great experience--from the warm greeting, homemade cookies, and a selection of sodas, to the comfortable rooms, and terrific smell of coffee in the morning, and breakfast at the dining room table with other guests, to the good wishes and "come back soon" send off! I recommend it highly and plan to visit again. Thanks so much to our hosts for making all of us feel welcome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a wonderfully relaxing couple of nights at The Angler's Inn! Coffee on the porch and a full homemade breakfast each morning was the best way to start the day. Plus, it's perfectly located. We didn't move the car the entire time during our stay. We'll definitely stay here for our next trip to Harper's Ferry!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a wonderful B&B experience my girlfriend and I had! We were on the C&O trail and stayed here our first night. Other then the face that we had to climb spiral stairs with fully loaded bikes and then climb a 3/4 mile steep hill after 60 miles of pedaling...well, it was worth it. We were welcomed warmly, given a nice secure place for our cycles, and some great local tips on where to eat (Go to the Canal House...amazing place). The bed was super comfortable and we got a great nights sleep. The breakfast was absolutely gourmet and the other guests were delightful. We were so engaged, we got a late start on day 2 of our ride...but for good reasons. We plan on coming back just to say here for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 867 W. Washington St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angler's Inn, a spacious Victorian B&B is located in the Historic town of Harpers Ferry, WV, a scenic place to explore U.S. history, enjoy the outdoors, do some shopping and dine. Our Guest Rooms each include private sitting rooms and private baths. A full Gourmet Breakfast is served each morning, and our famous homemade Chocolate Chip cookies and refreshment are available in the afternoons. Professionally Guided Fishing Trips for Smallmouth Bass available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Inn b&b
The Angler`s Hotel Harpers Ferry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.