We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes! The Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
867 W. Washington St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yes! The Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a wonderful B&B experience my girlfriend and I had! We were on the C&O trail and stayed here our first night. Other then the face that we had to climb spiral stairs with fully loaded bikes and then climb a 3/4 mile steep hill after 60 miles of pedaling...well, it was worth it. We were welcomed warmly, given a nice secure place for our cycles, and some great local tips on where to eat (Go to the Canal House...amazing place). The bed was super comfortable and we got a great nights sleep. The breakfast was absolutely gourmet and the other guests were delightful. We were so engaged, we got a late start on day 2 of our ride...but for good reasons. We plan on coming back just to say here for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
104
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'll start with the worst part...the hill coming back from town....haha. About 10-15 min back up the 1/2 mile hill after you have dinner. Take your time and enjoy the various old houses along the way.

We made our reservations late and ended up with the Wager Room, which is the only one without a on-suite bathroom. You do have your own bathroom, it's just across the hall and for your use alone. While I did not mind this, some people might.

There were three other couples staying here at the same time but the place did not feel crowded. Deb the hostess made everyone feel welcome and was very attentive to everyone's needs.

Coffee and hot tea were available starting at 7:30 am and breakfast began at 8:30am. Both days they breakfast was great.

The beds was a queen but short. I'm 6ft 1in and my feet were hanging off the end. I grew up with a bed like this so it wasn't too awkward.

Dinner is walking distance to town, or you can drive to Shepardstown for a better meal.

Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Book at least three weeks early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwood
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first time to Harper's Ferry, and to the Angler's Inn. We loved both! We stayed in the room on the first floor. It was beautiful, quaint, with a private bath and sitting room. The bedroom opened to a lovely private back porch where we could sit and have tea and cookies. The bed was very comfortable and we had a quiet, peaceful nights sleep. Our room opened directly to the dining room, which was fine, we were not bothered by any noise. There are more rooms upstairs that we did not see.
Breakfast was excellent! Debbie paid attention to little details to make it special, and she was very helpful answering our questions and offering suggestions about the town. We would go back in a heartbeat.
I can think of no negatives. The Angler's Inn has charm and character, as do many of the older Inns where we have stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I travel several times a year and this was our third stay at a B&B. Each successive time has been better than the last but if you're like us and typically stay in 4 star hotels, manage your expectations because this is a quaint old home and you might find it a bit of a let down. The room we stayed in was large but the furniture was all miss matched and gave me the feeling of being crowded. The bed (king size) was comfortable with lovely high quality cotton sheets. The room had a small sitting area off the bedroom which was an added bonus but the floor appeared to slant downwards bit. However, with old homes, uniqueness is to be expected. We had our own bathroom (also an added bonus) with an old claw foot tub. The water pressure in the shower was wonderful but if you have problems with balance, use caution since the top of the tub is several inches higher than today's models and could be a challenge getting in and out of). Both the bedroom and bath were spotless. We also found the innkeeper very helpful. The highlight for us was the breakfasts! They were delightful and you won't walk away hungry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at the Angler's as part of our bike ride on the C&O Canal. The only negative is that you have to climb a hill to get there. But....it is worth it! Debbie's hospitality, the comfortable rooms and best of all, the wonderful breakfast (homemade breads, omelets made to order, etc.) make the final pedal strokes worth it. Debbie was very accommodating, providing us with an early breakfast so we could head out a bit earlier on the next leg of our journey. Fantastic, all around!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Girlfriend acquired a group-on for my birthday to spend a weekend here. Unfortunately, my work schedule prevented us from getting in to the B&B before the group-on expired, however, they still accepted the group-on past the expiration date after we explained the circumstances. Upon arrival the room was very clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and best of all for me there was no TV in our room. This really pushed us to spend time together talking and actually getting out and about the town. The B&B is located very close, we walked, to downtown Harper's Ferry. We were also very close to Antietam National Battlefield, which we also visited. Overall, This was an amazing weekend which started with the exceptional hospitality and kindness of our hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here with 2 other friends after biking on the C&O Canal trail. Debbie was very warm and welcoming. This older historic house was tastefully appointed and very clean. We had the Wager room that was 2 rooms with a private bath across the hallway. We enjoyed the evening snacks of homemade cookies, while creating our own happy hour on the front porch swing. Breakfast included fresh baked berry cobbler with fresh cream and pancakes. Bikers: be aware this Inn sits about 1 mile up a big hill at the very top of Harpers Ferry. Be ready for a long climb. And, the Inn does not have separate bike storage, but has space behind the house.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 867 W. Washington St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angler's Inn, a spacious Victorian B&B is located in the Historic town of Harpers Ferry, WV, a scenic place to explore U.S. history, enjoy the outdoors, do some shopping and dine. Our Guest Rooms each include private sitting rooms and private baths. A full Gourmet Breakfast is served each morning, and our famous homemade Chocolate Chip cookies and refreshment are available in the afternoons. Professionally Guided Fishing Trips for Smallmouth Bass available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Inn b&b
The Angler`s Hotel Harpers Ferry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.