We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfasts, Relaxing, Comfortable, Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
867 W. Washington St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfasts, Relaxing, Comfortable, Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My sister and I stayed in The Anglers Inn Friday and Saturday in March 2013. The experience, from arrival to departure was just lovely; calming, relaxing and friendly. Between the quiet, and the just-right bed I slept like a baby and woke up ready for an adventure. Breakfast was exquisite both mornings; a real three-course gourmet treat. I loved the Ricotta pancakes and spiced bacon - Yumm. The owner was a fountain of information about the area and had laid out maps and brochures in an alcove. I had a terrific weekend and the Anglers Inn was a large factor in that. The inn is a four room bed and breakfast. Every room is a suite. Three rooms have en-suite bathrooms and an attached sitting room. The fourth room has a bed in the sitting room rather than sofas and chairs. It is a perfect room if you are going with a family member because each person can have their own bed. The Inn itself is lovely, comfortable and spotlessly clean, (my allergies did not act up once) with free water, sodas and cookies in the living room. Despite the fact that certain areas were showing signs of wear and new coat of paint would have made the entire thing look really spiffed up, it did not matter because the rooms and bathrooms were so big and comfortable, warm and cozy. It was too early to go fishing, but in the spring and summer you can arrange fishing expeditions through the inn (hence the name Anglers Inn). I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone wanting to stay in Harpers Ferry.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. The suite with two beds is perfect for friends or family members who like to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
104
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently planned a 5 day trip to Harper's Ferry for a much needed get away to reconnect with myself and with nature. After careful consideration I chose to spend my time in Harpers Ferry and to stay at the Angler's Inn. For me it was the perfect choice! From the moment I arrived I felt myself begin to relax. Debbi and Bryan, the Innkeepers, could not have been more welcoming. After many discussions with them about the history of their home, it was clear that they take great pride in their Bed and Breakfast. It is beautifully and thoughtfully decorated and not in an over the top "doily" kind of way that you can find at a lot of B and B's. It is also very conveniently located so the center of town is an easy walk away. Debbi is very knowledgeable about the area so she is a great resource to help you plan what to do, not only in Harpers Ferry, but also in the surrounding area. Bryan also does guided fishing tours though this is not something I did while I was there.

I stayed in the McKenzie room which is the only room downstairs. Debbi gave me a tour of all of the other rooms and I must say, they are all wonderful. I would have been happy to stay in any one of the rooms. What I enjoyed about staying in the McKenzie is that it has a separate entrance from the back of the house along with an outdoor sitting area that is essentially private off of the bedroom. The queen bed was very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was amazing! This room worked out great for me, however, the room is just off of the dining room so you will hear the breakfast guests at 8:30 in the morning. If you like to sleep in late this might not be the room for you.

For me this was not an issue as I looked forward every morning to getting up for breakfast. I was very pleased to discover that Debbi is an excellent cook! Each morning she prepared a three course breakfast which included freshly baked muffins/scones/and breads with tea/coffee/orange juice, a second course of baked fruits with fresh cream, and finally the main course which varied from French toast with almonds, spinach soufflé, lemon ricotta pancakes, and made to order omelets with toppings like prosciutto and goat cheese. In the afternoon, Debbi prepared chocolate chip cookies, tea and other beverages for guests to enjoy after coming home from a day of adventure.

I don't have any complaints about the Angler's Inn and would highly recommend it for those traveling without young children (no children under the age of 12). It was very relaxing and provided the perfect environment for my quiet get away. I enjoyed it so much that I decided to make a reservation to go back to the Angler's Inn in May (with my husband this time!) to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary! I am looking forward to sharing with him this gem that I discovered!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Absolutely wonderful stay this weekend all the way around. Angler's Inn rooms were clean, comfortable, and cozy, the breakfasts were delicious and filling to your heart and stomach's content, and the owners were warm, engaging, and informative with regard to the area's offerings. Our room was spacious and had a very large porch where we enjoyed our wine and cheese, our coffee cups were never empty, and there was always an ample supply of freshly baked cookies. Could not have asked for anything better.

Room Tip: The Fenwick Room seemed to be the largest of the rooms, with the private porch next door. Freshly i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This cozy little nook has all the charm and wonders of 19th century living. The bed and breakfast innkeepers are warm and friendly and make one feel right at home. Each room has a lock and key so there is ample privacy. Each room has a personal bathroom, ours had a claw-foot bathtub which was romantic. Breakfast is hearty without being heavy. They are not always the typical eggs and bacon but more ecclectic treats like "Chocolate Coconut muffins, Mixed Berry Bake, Lemon Ricotta Hotcakes and Spiced Bacon". It was all delicious. There are also cookies and drinks in the evening for guests to enjoy. They have a lounge area with a piano, chess board and comfy seats.

If you enjoy the comfort, cozy and friendly feeling of a B&B than this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just booked The Angler's Inn for our ninth year in a row, this time for four nights, and keep staying for more days each time. We love the accommodations (espcially the Remington room), the delicious and plentiful breakfastsand the comfort and location Most importantly, the hospitality and graciousness of our hosts, Debi and Bryan is nothing short of fabulous ! Our fishing trips with Bryan as our guide are absolutely memorable and Debi makes sure that our stay is as pleasan as possible. She is so helpful and always attuned to our needs as guests. You will love The Angler's Inn for your stay in charming Harpers Ferry !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover de
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

if you are planning a trip to harpers ferry give The Anglers Inn a try. Thers only one problem, you will soon want to return. Debi and Bryan will treat you like family and will welcome you with a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I received terrible customer service when I tried to make a reservation to stay at the Inn. On January 22nd I purchased a Living Social Deal to stay any weekend before April 30th. I called 8 days later and spoke with both Brian and Debi Kelly, and they were booked for the next 12 weekends except for one, in which we alread had spring break plans. My options were either to rearrange my plans or to return the living social deal. It appeared as if they had oversold the Living Social promotion. Debi went on about how I should have called immediately after purchasing because they booked up so fast. I did not think 8 days was too late to call for a deal that would not expire for 3 more months. My experience in the past with using Living Social for three years now, is that it is the owner/manager, etc's decision to extend a promotion deal beyond the published expiration date. In my case, before I made a decision regarding what I wanted to do, I wanted to know all of my options. I asked Debi if they would be willing to extend the promotional deal beyond the April 30th expiration date since they were all booked. She put me on hold and I assumed she was looking into it. To my utter shock I heard her call me a very bad curse word to her husband. I could not believe the innkeeper had called me a curse word, espeically because I felt I was being kind, very flexible, and understanding. She did not expect me to hear her but I did. She admitted it was unprofessional and she apologized. When she handed me over to her husband I expected an apology from him as well, but to my surprise he proceeded to berate me even further. I was incredulous. I should have hung up then. He was condescending and incrediblly unprofessional. They seemed to get really offended and defensive when I asked them if they would be willing to extend the promotional deal. All they had to do was say "no" and I would have returned the Living Social voucher. Brian likes to defer to his countless satisfied guests over the years, but that does not excuse treating me poorly over the phone. I had the unfortunate experience of witnessing their true colors. There is no excuse for calling a potential guest such a rude and underserved name. I was not being difficult on the phone--I was asking my options so I could make a well-informed decision. I felt pressured by them to book a future stay and apply the $190 instead of returning the voucher. In over 30 years of world travel I have never had such difficultly with an owner/proprietor/manager or experienced such disrespecfulness. I cannot speak of the value, cleanliness, etc, of the Inn because I will never be staying there. When I called Living Social several days later to return the voucher, they actually told me that my complaint was not the first one they had received, and that they were notifying their management.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 867 W. Washington St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angler's Inn, a spacious Victorian B&B is located in the Historic town of Harpers Ferry, WV, a scenic place to explore U.S. history, enjoy the outdoors, do some shopping and dine. Our Guest Rooms each include private sitting rooms and private baths. A full Gourmet Breakfast is served each morning, and our famous homemade Chocolate Chip cookies and refreshment are available in the afternoons. Professionally Guided Fishing Trips for Smallmouth Bass available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Inn b&b
The Angler`s Hotel Harpers Ferry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angler's Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.