We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful,historic home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jackson Rose B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jackson Rose B & B
Save Saved
You added The Jackson Rose B & B to your Saves list
1167 W. Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
columbus,ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful,historic home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first trip to Harpers Ferry and my husband and I were truly impressed with the B&B. The history behind the house is fascinating and it's been beautifully restored to reflect the Civil War time period. We stayed in the Jackson Rose room which is in the front of the home overlooking the front yard and street. It was very quiet and comfortable and roomy. Knowing that "Stonewall" Jackson actually stayed in this room while using the home as headquarters made it all the more interesting. The two common areas are comfortable and inviting. Phil and Deb were extremely interesting and gracious hosts. Deb's breakfast was delicious; homemade muffins, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, sausage, fried potatoes, and toast plus juice and coffee. We would highly recommend this B&B...another huge plus, they have onsite parking and plenty of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
87
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Phil treated me to a little tour of his B & B when I arrived. I was exploring the Civil War and was curious about what daily life might have been like "back in the day". This was easy to imagine here in this excellently restored (neat & clean) house. Plus my hosts had put a looseleaf book on the desk in the Stonewall Jackson room where I stayed that had a detailed history of their house and a mini bio of Stonewall Jackson. Included in this book was a "Things to Do" list of nearby wineries and directions to the Harper's Ferry National Park which was located just down the road. Rangers there provide a shuttle bus to the historically restored town (a "must see"). Deb's breakfast, served by Phil, was delightful - there were homemade biscuits and homemade jams, omelets and good coffee - Deb and Phil are warm and friendly hosts and I look forward to returning to their B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Jackson Rose over the Fourth of July. We had researched it ahead of time and found all the descriptions on their site to be true. It was even more lovely in person. We staying in the Linden room, which overlooks the back yard. The house is true to it's period. It is cool and clean and inviting. We walked down into the "lower town" several times. The location was great for our trips to Antietam and Shepherdstown. We also took time for a hike up to Maryland Heights - and highly recommend it! An added bonus for us was "Roy" the loveable, large dog of the house. Deb and Phil are careful to keep him from guests if they are not dog lovers...but if you ARE a dog lover, you have the joy of playing with him if you'd like. Deb's breakfasts were AMAZING - different each of the four mornings we were there - and they held us through the day until dinner. We hope to return, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is an amazing B&B simply because of the age of the house and the history associated with the place. It was a very special experience to stay in the same room that Stonewall Jackson inhabited over 150 years ago. Phil and Deb are lovely hosts, the breakfasts were delicious, and the B&B is in an ideal location for exploring Harpers Ferry and Antietam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here thru a "fluke". We were supposed to be at another B&B but unfortunately they had overbooked so they sent us here. What an awesome turn if events this was for us! The house, as well as the hosts were amazing and gracious. The history of this house is something I would love to come back and explore more thoroughly. If you are planning a trip to Harpers Ferry I highly recommend staying at the Jackson Rose - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Jackson Rose for two nights this spring, and we are both in love with the place. We read the reviews here and it sounded so nice we booked a mid-week stay. The house itself is a historic landmark, Stonewall Jackson having stayed here in the early days of the Civil War. The decor is all wonderfully period - antiques fill the rooms and it all takes you right back to the 1860's. The hosts are Phil and Deb Hale and they are very welcoming and put you at ease right away. We stayed in the Linden room (large with a comfy bed) which overlooks the huge tree and garden gracing the back yard. The front yard had a large garden and it was all in bloom while we were there. Just lovely. The first day, after a scrumptious breakfast (Deb makes her own preserves and they are amzing) we strolled through Harpers Ferry and enjoyed the remarkably preserved historic town center. There are lots of hiking trails in the area and you have a choice between strenuous and flat trails. The second day, after once again enjoying a great breakfast we spent the day visiting the Antietam battlefield (which was very moving) and did a little window shopping in Shephardstown.
All in all it was just what we wanted; beautiful and relaxing surroundings, a lovely and historic home to stay in run by charming hosts, and a chance to brush up on our history. We will definitely plan a return visit to the JAckson Rose, we have already suggested a stay there to our friends in the DC area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I chose the Jackson Room and it was very comfortable. Phil and Deb took great care of us. We were welcomed with a cool drink when we arrived and there were home-made cookies and sherry left out in the dining room to help ourselves to at other times. Breakfast was good with home-made jams and muffins with cranberries from the garden, among other things. We arrived in Harper's Ferry by train and Phil picked us up from the station a mile away from their home. Since we were returning by an early morning commuter train we were not expecting to be dropped back at the station. But we were very pleasantly surprised with Phil's offer to be up by half past six to drop us off again (with bagged breakfast). That was very kind and made our whole stay especially convenient and pleasant. There are a couple of restaurants a five-minute walk away from the Jackson Rose. It's a 20-minute plus walk to the touristy downtown area, which isn't very far if you don't mind walking. We don't drive much, and so it was convenient that Harper's Ferry was accessible by train from Washington DC. In all, I highly recommend the Jackson Rose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jackson Rose B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jackson Rose B & B

Address: 1167 W. Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1795 Federal-style home listed on the National Register. Original heart of pine wood floors, high ceilings and warm ambience takes one back to simpler times. Full lavish breakfast, private baths, queen-size beds. A comfortable and quiet retreat from daily cares. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jackson Rose B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.