We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jackson Rose B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jackson Rose B & B
1167 W. Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Had a wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I chose the Jackson Room and it was very comfortable. Phil and Deb took great care of us. We were welcomed with a cool drink when we arrived and there were home-made cookies and sherry left out in the dining room to help ourselves to at other times. Breakfast was good with home-made jams and muffins with cranberries from the garden, among other things. We arrived in Harper's Ferry by train and Phil picked us up from the station a mile away from their home. Since we were returning by an early morning commuter train we were not expecting to be dropped back at the station. But we were very pleasantly surprised with Phil's offer to be up by half past six to drop us off again (with bagged breakfast). That was very kind and made our whole stay especially convenient and pleasant. There are a couple of restaurants a five-minute walk away from the Jackson Rose. It's a 20-minute plus walk to the touristy downtown area, which isn't very far if you don't mind walking. We don't drive much, and so it was convenient that Harper's Ferry was accessible by train from Washington DC. In all, I highly recommend the Jackson Rose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
78
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Union, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went to Harpers Ferry for a couple of day hikes on the Appalachian Trail. Although we left the Inn well before regular breakfast time our first two mornings, Phil put out fruit, coffee and fixins. Our third day we had the breakfast, and it was wonderful. We are mostly vegan, and they worked with us., Deb and Phil were fabulous hosts, and gave us a tour of the garden. The room was clean and quite comfortable. It was a perfect location to tour the historic district. We met several people who had stayed there multiple times, and can see why they return. We will too, on our next hike.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Jackson Rose B&B is lovely and provided the perfect backdrop for a much needed getaway weekend with dear friends! It was easy to see that the owners, Deb and Phil, take great pride in providing a memorable guest experience and in the preservation of their exquisite historic home. The rooms are handsomely decorated, comfortable and meticulously clean. We were greeted with wine upon our arrival and pampered with tasty warm homemade ginger cookies and sherry when back from a hike on the AT Trail, and the breakfast fare was a feast for our eyes and appetites. Details of the house and experience were thoughtful and abundant, and none overlooked – even Roy, the dog, was charming! Our hats are off to all of you – we are already planning our next trip to Harpers Ferry.

If this were not all enough, the historic and cultural resources within walking distance of the Jackson Rose B&B, are outstanding and a pleasure to explore. In the evenings, we enjoyed excellent restaurants within a two block walk. We especially enjoyed The Canal House Café staff were caring and the food was fabulous, plenty and beautifully presented; the fireplace was a welcome sight on a chilly night.

Enthusiastic applause and loud cheers! Well done!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the finest b& b's we have stayed at! We only had one night and it left us wanting to return. The owners were super nice and our room was just lovely. Breakfast was wonderful! I didn't make it down to breakfast but they graciously sent a tray up to me by my friend. So glad they did!

Room Tip: Ask if Stonewall Jacksons' room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Leonard, MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We are already looking forward to going back. We stayed in the very private Garret Suite, which was spacious and very comfortable. The atmosphere was very relaxing and surrounded by history. The distant sound of the train whistle was great as well as the chime of the grandfather clock. I totally enjoyed the style of the home - it reminded me of my grandparent's home in some ways.The gourmet breakfast was delicious. The muffins and gingerbread cookies were the best I have ever tasted. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. The location is terrific. My children especially enjoyed the resident dog. I could go on and on with positive comments...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Located right in the Historic District of Harpers Ferry, it is a wonderful Federal style home that has been somewhat modified over the years. As I was the only guest, they gave me General Jackson's room. Jackson used this as his headquarters early in the war when he was in charge of training recruits. They serve a very nice breakfast, had lots of good recommendations for local restaurants and the best way to visit Antietam. Thy even had a beer for me the afternoon I arrived. Parking is off street and very handy for getting you things into the house. There are of course stairs. The town is right down the street and well worth the visit. The Battlefields require a car as they are spread over considerable distances.

Room Tip: Ask for the General's room. It was quiet and had nice views. No ghosts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware City, Delaware
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our stay in the Jackson Rose room was perfect! Breakfast was incredible; even the jams are homemade! The Jackson Rose B&B included many historical photos, books, and movies. We came back from a hot afternoon walk to the river, and found a pitcher of delicious lemonade available--we really appreciated this. Sitting in the swing on the front porch in the evening, near the gardens, was very romantic. The owners are terrific hosts, and we hiighly recommend the Jackson Rose. Wow!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jackson Rose B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jackson Rose B & B

Address: 1167 W. Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1795 Federal-style home listed on the National Register. Original heart of pine wood floors, high ceilings and warm ambience takes one back to simpler times. Full lavish breakfast, private baths, queen-size beds. A comfortable and quiet retreat from daily cares. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jackson Rose B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Jackson Rose B & B to your Saves list