We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No response from them at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Friends Wilderness Center Retreat

Friends Wilderness Center Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Friends Wilderness Center Retreat
Save Saved
You added Friends Wilderness Center Retreat to your Saves list
305 Friends Way, Harpers Ferry, WV   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbia
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No response from them at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I too emailed them and never heard back. Wrote, waited two weeks, wrote again. Nada.
They still open? Found an alternative for country retreat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden M, Board |Member at Friends Wilderness Center Retreat, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We have no idea why you were unable to reach us by email. Please check our website to ensure that you are using to correct email address and try again and if you still have not heard back within 2 days, call the contact number listed and leave a message. There is an answering machine that will take your call and you will be promptly contacted in return. The Friends Wilderness Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We were interested in attending one of their events and coming out for an overnight visit. We emailed twice seven days apart, but didn't hear back at all (at least two weeks). And no error or undeliverable kickback message received. Wondered why there was no response and then gave up on using them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden M, Board Member at Friends Wilderness Center Retreat, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We have no idea why you were unable to reach us by email. Please check our website to ensure that you are using to correct email address and try again and if you still have not heard back within 2 days, call the contact number listed and leave a message. There is an answering machine that will take your call and you will be promptly contacted in return. The Friends Wilderness Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
md
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Although the natural setting is nice and the hostess cooks a good meal it is not worth the price. The accommodations are not B&B quality. The workmanship of the home is shoddy and cobbled together. The trim work was especially haphazard. The carpet was installed piecemeal with many seams in our room. In short, your $80 per person buys you a shared bathroom that is mold and mildew ridden. Is also has 4 spiders living in their webs on its ceiling. There was a dead mouse under my son's bed and it was apparent that it had been there for weeks. It truly is a wilderness center inside, but I would have camped if that was what I wanted.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Stayed overnight in 3-bedroom comfortable cabin (really a full service house) within huge Quaker wilderness preserve having view of deer by pond. Hiked miles of quiet trails. Saw a lot of wildlife, and many stars at night. Home-cooked meals were good and I could influence menu in advance. Kinda like a B&B. Very affordable. Especially good for solo travelers, small families, people liking to meditate, read, write, paint, relax in serene setting. Nice porch. The huge treehouse that seats 20 was fun to visit - might camp out there some night. Definitely a little known and special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Friends Wilderness Center Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Wilderness Center Retreat

Address: 305 Friends Way, Harpers Ferry, WV
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Harpers Ferry
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FWC is a comfortable but rustic retreat center with a heated cabin set in the woods up on the western slope of the Blue Ridge at the end of an unpaved road and is NOT a conventional B&B. The cabin is the residence of the FWC’s resident manager and has two guest rooms (one with two twin beds, one with a double bed). The full bath is shared with the manager and other guests, and the manager prepares hearty and tasty meals for you. The kitchen is not available for guests to use. Outdoor camping options include a yurt, a large open-sided, roofed tree platform, and, coming in 2013, a small geodesic dome. The cabin was built in the 1970’s and is showing its age but is a dry, comfortable place where you can relax, enjoy a hardy home-cooked meal while also enjoying all the magic of the Blue Ridge woods that surround the cabin. Please note that some cell phone reception is ‘iffy’ and there is no WiFi, in-room TV, or Internet connection provided for guests. If digital connectivity is a prerequisite for your happiness, FWC is probably not your cup of tea. On the other hand, if you are looking for some quality time ‘off the Web’ in which to sit around a campfire or by the cabin’s wood stove, watch stars, listen to owls, or fill your lungs with fresh mountain air on a relaxing hike, then FWC will leave you a very happy overnight camper and the comments in our guest book are proof of that. So if you are seeking a cabin retreat or sheltered outdoor camping for overnighting or are a wonderful place for day hikes, a family reunion, or an outdoor social gathering, the FWC is truly a marvelous place in which to relax, recharge and put a smile back on your face. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends Wilderness Center Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;