We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling the C&O Towpath” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Town's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Town's Inn
Save Saved
You added The Town's Inn to your Saves list
179 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25424   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cycling the C&O Towpath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After cycling 65 miles from Hancock, Maryland to Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, over a rough dusty path, we were ready for a shower and a good meal.
We had chosen the Town's Inn since it was on the lower part of Harpers Ferry. We had already researched and knew and that we had to get our pannier laden bikes up a spiral staircase and over a pedestrian bridge to get to Harpers Ferry. We knew that climbing the hill to the Town's Inn was enough and did not want to have to climb even further to upper Harpers Ferry.
We were helped to our room by Jeff, the assistant manager. He was a very pleasant friendly guy. He explained the menu for the restaurant and that he and his wife, Jill, prepared the home cooked meals. We decided to have dinner at the Inn's restaurant. Homemade chicken potpie with steamed vegetables and peach cobbler was great after most choices along the path had been fried options.
The accommodations were good, but could have been a bit cleaner, but then we were filthy when we arrived. A locked area outdoors was provided for our bicycles.
The town was quiet other than the trains at night, but this was Harpers Ferry and there is a lot of train traffic.
The cost of the Inn and the food was a great value and the staff was friendly. We were looking forward to breakfast at the Inn the next day and was delighted to hear that they started serving at 6 am since as cyclists in a heat wave at the end of May/first of June, we were looking forward to an early start for our 61 mile ride to Georgetown, Washington DC. By 6:45 am, no one had arrived, so we sadly went on our way having a piece of fruit, a muffin, and some nuts. We had so looked forward to a good breakfast to have a started our day's ride.
Steve and Diana

Room Tip: Bathroom was not located in our private room but we had been told that it was not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    33
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
19
46
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were riding the C&O Canal Tow Path from Cumberland to DC, and scheduled our stay at this wonderful Inn and Resturant. It was right downtown in the historical part of Harpers Ferry, close to all the shops and eateries. We booked two rooms and ate Dinner and Breakfast there. Food was good home cooking, and the rooms were very nice. They were what you would see in historic old buildings, full of character and charm. Wood floors everywhere, a wonderful lounge area at the top where you could rest your weary bodies while chatting with friends after a long day on the trail. Karan Townsend is a wonderful Innkeep, and was very occomodating as she did everything in her power to make our stay comfortable. Her staff were great too, as they personally saw to our needs. They also maintain a small sundry's store there in the Inn, so if you forgot something like toothpaste or even socks, you can buy it there. Good thinking!

Their homemade desserts were great. I loved the peach cobler and icecream!
I would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting Harpers Ferry, whether siteseeing, hiking or biking its a great place to stay or eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are looking for a classic Inn to spend the night and have some great home cooking, this is the place for you. Karan was very welcoming and did everything she could to make us feel completely at home. The location of the Inn is just far enough up the hill for a great view of the historic town and rivers, but not too far up the hill that you feel removed from the historic section of town. The staff are all very friendly. We felt it was a great value for the money. This is not a hotel chain so do not expect that type of experience. This is an authentic Inn, with a real Inn keeper who is dedicated to her patrons. It's not perfect, but that's what makes it great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed here and also eaten in the restaurant. Very friendly service. Family owned and run place. They also have some essential supplies and healthy snack items that are not available anywhere in the vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After reading the reviews here on TripAdvisor, we were very excited to stay in a historic inn in Harpers Ferry. We have done so in Gettysburg, Salem, and other old towns. Usually we love the quaint old places. This was NOT what we were expecting. Yes we were warned about parking but there is absolutely nowhere to even stop to check in and find out where we could park, etc. My husband dropped me off so I could check in and the hotel owner was very sweet and kind if a little scattered. She walked us to our room in the other building, which was still being cleaned for our stay, not a problem. However, ALL the doors were wide open, stink bugs were flying everywhere and every door and window had huge spiders living in it. We even overheard the cleaning guy talking to her about black widows. We thought we would walk around the town until our room was ready but as we explored and thought more and more about where we were staying, we made a decision to call around and find a plain hotel to stay at. We ended up staying at the last room available in a Frederick, MD chain hotel which was unfortunately a smoking room (It was Columbus Day weekend). I honestly preferred that to the thought of bugs everywhere.

Room Tip: Private Baths are not attached to rooms. You have to go down a steep staircase and have a separate k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karantownsend, Owner at The Town's Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
This review by a potential guest six months ago (Columbus Day weekend) contains comments that need to be clarified, corrected, and/or put into context:
(1) The website and confirmation letter generally establish realistic expectations, so a general comment that the Inn "was NOT what we were expecting" is unclear. Even the parking situation (which is 100% beyond my control) is explained in writing, which was acknowledged by the reviewer. I don't know what expectations the reviewer had that weren't met --- other than bugs.?
(2) The big concern of the reviewer seems to be bugs, and the comment "Stink bugs were flying everywhere and every door and window had huge spiders living in it" is simply untrue. :( I live in the Inn and would not tolerate living in a den of flying stink bugs and huge spiders :) As the Health Department can confirm, stink bugs are a problem for every lodging establishment in Jefferson County ( even the "sterile" chain hotels ) --- but stink bugs are rarely seen flying. The Inn has only 2 doors, and spiders don't reside in these doors since the doors are in constant use. The front door provides access to/from the restaurant and 3 guest rooms, and the back door provides access to the patio, which is part of the restaurant. The 15 windows in the 3-story building are never opened and are cleaned regularly from the inside, so any sitings of spiders would refer to spiders on the outside, over which I have little control.
(3) The reviewer mentions that the room wasn't ready but states that this wasn't a problem. The confirmation letter states that check-in time is at 4 p.m. but invites guests to come to the Inn immediately upon arrival in Harpers Ferry --- even though rooms might not be ready.

I regret the negative tone and rating of this review and invite you to contact me if you have further questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

"Welcome home." Was how we were greeted when we walked in the door and at no time did we ever feel like just a guest. This B&B is delightful in its charms and decor. We stayed in the Applachian room and it met our expectations.

If you stay at The Town's Inn you will find a warm, welcoming atmosphere where you are more valued as a person than as a credit card number. Wonderful food and a genuinely friendly staff and inn owner. Karan has truly devoted herself to making her inn a welcoming, relaxing experience.

It was great to find a place where you can leave the cares of the modern world behind. No TVs, not telephone, and good, good food and service.

All that and not even mentioning that this Inn is just steps to the historic park, trails, rafting, and the gorgeous views of the Shenandoah and Potomac rivers.

I give this Inn an A. And if you have ever thought about it, it is a wonderful experience to walk around Harpers Ferry at night and view the billions of stars in the sky and the stillness of the town without all the day trippers out and about.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have private baths. So make sure you choose the room that is right for your situation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in Harpers Ferry just a week or so before the tourist season starts to heat up, so this was about the only attractive dinner spot available to us. And we did enjoy our dinner, though we were the ONLY people in the tiny dining area, so it felt even more like eating in someone's private home. A bit too intimate and eccentric for us but if you enjoy that sort of atmosphere, you'd love it here. Certainly no complaints about the food, all of it apparently homemade and/or cooked to order. In warmer weather, the tiny patio overlooking the town would be delightful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town's Inn

Address: 179 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Rates starting at $120*** This family-friendly historic Inn (circa 1840) is located in the center of the Harpers Ferry living history village situated at the confluence of the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers, just steps from the C&O Canal Towpath and Appalachian Trail, as well as the storybook train station served by Amtrak and MARC trains. Open from 6 a.M. - 10 P.M. Every day of the year, the restaurant on the first level of the Inn offers indoor and patio dining featuring popular cuisine, including homemade specialties and healthy options. Also on the first floor is a Sundry / Snack / Supply Shoppe which has been described as a "high-end convenience store, a mini-health food store, and an old-fashioned country store with local products." The second floor consists of two bedrooms with beautiful slate-tile private bathrooms. A parlor containing a treasure of books, toys, and games is situated on the third floor, along with another bedroom. Free WiFi is available. Step outside and enjoy river views, river sports, hiking, bicycling, museums, shopping, and more in this quaint town that is adjacent to the Harpers Ferry National Historic Park and surrounded by other national parks, farms, and Civil War battlegrounds. Although located only 60 miles from DC, the Inn is "a world away" from life in modern urban and suburban cities. We invite you to travel "over the river and through the woods to Grandmother's house" for relaxation, recreation, and retreat. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.