We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and bicycle friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Union Street, PO Box 980, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value and bicycle friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This small hotel perched above Harper’s Ferry proves that you don’t have to be a Hyatt or Crown Plaza to deliver excellent service. It is about a mile uphill climb for cyclists coming off the C&O Canal Trail but is worth the effort. It is very bike friendly. The hotel has a high pressure hose, plenty of towels and an area to clean C&O muddied bikes. On our visit, the front desk clerk was very attentive to our needs. She recommended a local pizzeria and allowed us to use the breakfast room for our dinner. Clean rooms, attentive staff, and a convenient location made it a winner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed the extra amenities that we offer to our hikers and cyclists and that you chose us as your stopover before heading back on the C&O Canal Trail. Safe travels! Sincerely, Yinching Lin-Chen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    56
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
30
58
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife (goodhikers 1986) has already written a review of this Econo Lodge in Harper's Ferry and I usually don't double up on reviews, but I'm making an exception because of the great service we had at this hotel.

First and foremost, please note that it is a standard Econo Lodge--clean, basic, and uniform. It is NOT the Ritz or a Hyatt, but for it's class/location/service, it deserves the "5-star" excellent rating, particularly for bikers on the C&O canal and hikers on the Appalachian Trail (which passes about 200 yards from the hotel). Here's why:

1. Bicyclists on C&O canal: lots of reasons to like this place; in particular, manager allows bikes in your room and gives you an automatic 10% discount. Alas, it is about 1.5 miles from the canal, but the ride through portions of historic Harper's Ferry is nice even if slightly uphill (on average).

2. Hikers on the Appalachian: the hotel is very close to the trail; just after crossing the Shenandoah River on US 340 (headed northbound), the hotel is another 200 yards up the road on a very slight uphill grade with a decent walking lane next to the road. You can see the hotel sign from the west side of the bridge. The only major "hill" to climb is the 30ft. long driveway into the hotel's parking lot.

For all: the breakfast is huge for this class of hotel (at least on Sundays): eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, cereal, juices, coffee/tea, bagels, donuts, rolls, etc...and it starts at 0630, so you can get an early start with a full stomach! If you need to do wash, there are coin-operated washers/dryers for use by hotel guests on the first floor. Plus, the staff and manager are very biker/hiker friendly--they want your business and are enthusiastic in their service.

It is also located within a relatively decent walking distance of the best restaurant in the area, in my opinion: the Anvil (the only restaurant with a full service bar anywhere in the area).

The rooms themselves were quite clean with 32" flat screen TVs, small fridge, & coffee maker (with coffee/tea). Showers and bath rooms were clean with plenty of hot water.

Bottom line: not the B&B of your dreams in historic Harper's Ferry, but a great "utility" hotel for those of us transiting the area with bicycles, cycles, or backpacks. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bicyclists: ask for a first floor room so you don't have to carry your bikes up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Oh my goodness! I could read this review over and over again. Thank you so much for writing this. Your compliments on our amazing staff, clean rooms, hiker/bike-friendly hotel, and our great location are very much appreciated by everyone here. I really do hope you'll be back again so that you'll make a point of asking for me so we can meet. Thank you.

Yinching Lin-Chen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husand and I paid over a hundred dollars a night so we didn't think this was a cheap choice. The Lodge is fairly easy to find. Parking lot had spaces for all vehicles even over this busy holiday. Our room was on the second floor and we had to carry our luggage up as no elevator. Carpet and stairway walls dinghy and worn via stairs up. However, our room was clean and a nice size. We had a good refrigerator. Our view was of the parking lot. Two small slivers of soap for 2 people to shower tho was not enough - usually the soaps are a bit bigger. Ask for extra or bring your own soap or shower gel. No shower cap either. Breakfast is included in your stay and it consisted of deicious sausage and fried egg circles, cereal, various breads, fruit, juice, gravy and biscuits and a 'make your own waffles' machine. There is no restaurant so you will eat out for lunch/dinner. Staff interaction was average - they pretty much ignored us except for the registration in/out. If you are into long walks you could walk to Lower Town Harpers Ferry from here, but most people will drive there. Considering the alternative places to stay being more costly, or B&B's, or not as clean, this Econo Lodge is probably your best bet for the close proximity. Wishing you safe travels!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks for your review of the hotel over the Memorial Day weekend and for your reviews of other places you visited in beautiful, quaint Harpers Ferry! Unfortunately, those wrapped soaps are required for the brand so if you need more, just ask. We have shower caps too!
We accommodate cyclists so sometimes the tire marks leave imprints on the walls; we will try to erase them the best we can. We're so glad you enjoyed our free hot breakfast to start off your day.
We're sorry you didn't have more interaction with our Front Desk; they are all wonderful and very knowledgeable about the area. We greatly appreciate your feedback and wish you safe travels. Sincerely, Yinching Lin-Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I chose this place because I really wasn't looking for a fancy B & B after biking 60 miles and camping out the night before. What a find! I'll be back even if I'm not a bike. Such a great place! The staff was more than accomodating. They let us check in early (even though I had just asked to store our bikes and packs a couple of hours early). And when we asked about using the bike racks out front, they told us to just take the bikes in the room since we were on the first floor. We met all kinds of other people who were doing exactly what we were doing so it was really nice to compare notes. We saw many people doing bike trips or hiking trips and using this hotel as a stop to clean up, and regroup. We noticed that there was a coin laundry on the first floor and that seemed to be a big hit with folks on the trail. The rooms were simple but very clean and just exactly what we needed. I'll be telling our biking friends about this place. It's perfect after a couple of days and nights on the trail. It appears that many bikers and hikers already know about this place. There was a nice hot breakfast served in the morning so we had our fill of biscuits and gravy before we hit the trail. The staff seems to know exactly what was needed. Great place!

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you havve a bike you'd like to take into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your review of our hotel and the area! Yes, we accommodate many hikers and bikers due to the proximity to the trail and we're only half mile away from the Appalachian Trail Headquarters and maybe 15-20 minute walking distance to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park. We're glad you had a pleasant stay and met many like-minded people doing the same. Happy trails! Yinching Lin-Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My companion and I really just wanted a cheap place to stay during a little road trip we were having, but we were totally impressed with the value of this place! The staff is absolutely lovely and made us feel welcome. They were more than happy to give directions, and they made it ridiculously easy for us to add a night on to our stay. They even let us check in early when we arrived ahead of schedule!

The location is great - within walking distance of historical Harper's Ferry, a short drive away from some restaurants and shopping centers in Charles Town. We even drove in to Washington DC for dinner one night!

The room was clean and cozy and everything was in working order. You really cannot beat the price, especially when our stay was so pleasant. I've stayed in much more expensive hotels that were not nearly as welcoming as this one. Overall an absolutely fantastic value for your money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff loves taking care of our guests and it shows. Wishing you safe travels! Sincerely, Yinching Lin-Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel is located right off the main road-close to HF attractions. Room was clean...breakfast in the morning was good-fresh fruit biscuits coffee etc. Staff at front desk was friendly and accomodating too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We thank you for your nice review and we're glad you enjoyed the free hot breakfast and wonderful staff service. Sincerely, Yinching Lin-Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here after a late night of playing slots at Charles Town Races. I was pleased that the Internet was working and free. The front desk staff were very nice and the rates were pretty good, which was helpful as I didn't do so well at the casino. While the room was basic, they were very clean and well-maintained. I liked having a coffee maker in the room and the television had HDMI input so I could hook up my laptop to it. The beds were comfortable and the surrounding area is quiet enough for an excellent sleep.The complimentary breakfast was better than average and my wife really enjoyed the waffles. I definitely recommend this particular Econo Lodge and will stay here again when I'm in the area!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem fine but definitely stay for the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank your for your detailed review about your stay. Yes, we've noticed our guests like to connect their laptops to our large flat-screen TVs for a bigger picture. We're glad you had a comfortable sleep in our new beds and had a chance to try out our free hot breakfast. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again in Charles Town/Harpers Ferry.

Sincerely,
Yinching Lin-Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Address: 25 Union Street, PO Box 980, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.