We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously comfortable beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Union Street, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Harpers Ferry
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seriously comfortable beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling by bikes on the tow path of the C&O canal. This hotel is located a few miles up hill from the canal but worth the effort! The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and larger that most. The continental breakfast was good and very much appreciated! The best part about the stay was the beds! They were incredible! So soft I didn't want to get up!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    24
    9
    10
See reviews for
23
49
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here when we were biking the Great Allegheny Passage Trail and the C&O Towpath from Pittsburgh, PA to Washington DC and returning (622 miles) in June 2013. It was very affordable and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They allowed us to keep our bikes in the room which we greatly appreciated. They had a very substantial continental breakfast in the morning which we heartily enjoyed. It was very convenient to ride from the hotel to the historical attractions in Harper's Ferry every day. It is a pleasant three block walk to several nice restaurants which we enjoyed. The room and bathroom were very clean and smelled nice. We met many hikers who were walking the Appalachian Trail and wanted a nice rest for the night and a hot shower. It was like old home week for a brotherhood of those who enjoy the great outdoors but occasionally need civil amenities. We will stay here anytime we are in the area, and without hesitation recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. The staffs were very friendly, and the surrounding hotel is a beautiful countryside landscape. If we have a chance to visit Harpers Ferry again, we ll return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

what a nice hotel, very clean, staff was nice and Harpers ferry is a very Romantic area. this is a great place to stay and easy on the pocket book. probably the best econo lodge in the USA. this Hotel way out paces the competition

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The price and other reviews are what brought us in, but we loved the comfortable king size bed. Our room was clean, had a fridge, air conditioning and a good wireless connection.They offer a really nice free breakfast with hot offerings as well as cold.cereal. There is a coin operated washer and dryer (that actually work). We found this hotel centrally located for touring the area, (We even did a day hike on the Appalachian Trail starting from the hotel). We would like to return to see more of the area and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor at the end of the hall and never had a noise issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by a nice lady at the front desk who signed me up for the rewards program. We paid in advance through hotels.com. The king sized bed was comfy and liked the room. Updated granite counter top in bathroom. The fridge, microwave, and air conditioning worked well. We took hot showers so whatever problem was listed before is gone now. We stayed in room 108. The walls are a little thin, but only heard traces of voices in the morning as people were getting up and leaving. I would come back here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Not a pleasant experience. The hotel was full, so we had little flexibility. We were greeted by a live 'stink bug' on the ceiling of our room and found a dozen more, dead or weak, in the HVAC - pretty disgusting. The frig made a noise so we unplugged it, but there was also noise coming from the walls from 'the hot water system' - all night. Staff said they were working on the hot water system. There was a car with a malfunctioning alarm in the parking lot under our window. The car alarm went off frequently - all night. The hotel does not ask for car registration info so they could do nothing. The full hotel overwhelmed the breakfast, out of coffee, out of milk. The generic tea was awful and my wife refused to drink. What made it worse is I hosted my brother and sister from New York, for a total of three rooms, and we all had the same issues. (They did not mention bugs and I did not dare ask.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience. Stink bugs are indeed a nuisance, particularly in VA/WV with the warmer climate. When informed, Maintenance promptly removes them or reassign rooms if possible. The hot water situation was resolved and we reiterated Front Desk procedures on recording plate info to prevent such incidences from recurring.
We have switched tea products. We truly value your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to comment so we that we can continue to improve to improve the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Address: 25 Union Street, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.