We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Comfortable place to use a home base.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Union Street, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Harpers Ferry
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, Comfortable place to use a home base.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The price and other reviews are what brought us in, but we loved the comfortable king size bed. Our room was clean, had a fridge, air conditioning and a good wireless connection.They offer a really nice free breakfast with hot offerings as well as cold.cereal. There is a coin operated washer and dryer (that actually work). We found this hotel centrally located for touring the area, (We even did a day hike on the Appalachian Trail starting from the hotel). We would like to return to see more of the area and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor at the end of the hall and never had a noise issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    24
    9
    10
See reviews for
23
49
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by a nice lady at the front desk who signed me up for the rewards program. We paid in advance through hotels.com. The king sized bed was comfy and liked the room. Updated granite counter top in bathroom. The fridge, microwave, and air conditioning worked well. We took hot showers so whatever problem was listed before is gone now. We stayed in room 108. The walls are a little thin, but only heard traces of voices in the morning as people were getting up and leaving. I would come back here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Not a pleasant experience. The hotel was full, so we had little flexibility. We were greeted by a live 'stink bug' on the ceiling of our room and found a dozen more, dead or weak, in the HVAC - pretty disgusting. The frig made a noise so we unplugged it, but there was also noise coming from the walls from 'the hot water system' - all night. Staff said they were working on the hot water system. There was a car with a malfunctioning alarm in the parking lot under our window. The car alarm went off frequently - all night. The hotel does not ask for car registration info so they could do nothing. The full hotel overwhelmed the breakfast, out of coffee, out of milk. The generic tea was awful and my wife refused to drink. What made it worse is I hosted my brother and sister from New York, for a total of three rooms, and we all had the same issues. (They did not mention bugs and I did not dare ask.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience. Stink bugs are indeed a nuisance, particularly in VA/WV with the warmer climate. When informed, Maintenance promptly removes them or reassign rooms if possible. The hot water situation was resolved and we reiterated Front Desk procedures on recording plate info to prevent such incidences from recurring.
We have switched tea products. We truly value your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to comment so we that we can continue to improve to improve the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This facility is very over priced for the conditions due to the tourist area that it services. The staff was OK but the facility is out dated at best. The breakfast offerings were very bland - the "manufactured" egg product was tasteless. One caution about breakfast - get there early - don't expect anything to be replenished within the last 30-45 minutes of the breakfast time. Even the coffee was gone at 8:45 & there was no more in sight. We could have made some in the room but our in room supply was used a day earlier & never replenished. The standard staff comment was "Sorry.....". Use extreme caution when exiting this hotel driveway - it is tough to see traffic due to the concrete walls that line the driveway. Next time we visit the area we will not use this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel this past weekend April 27th and 28th as I was in town to watch a friend compete in a local race. The staff was nothing but kind from my kind of late check in, dealing with my second night's reservation, extended a late checkout, and even re-opening the breakfast buffet when almost 30 of us arrived from the race and they had cleaned most of the area already! The rooms and lobby were clean, the staff was tremendously helpful and friendly, I wish EVERY hotel experience was as enjopyable as this one had been! If you are in the Harpers Ferry area, THIS is the hotel you want to stay at!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

his place needs some adult supervision:

1. car horn in parking lot went off every hour waking virtually every guest up including me repeatedly. When questioned in the AM, the staff said "oh, my police officer friend wasn't on duty so i didn't call the police". Suggestions: take license plate numbers to match a car to the guest; call cops; if all else fails, tow it away.

2. very loud, poorly maintained hot water heater. sounded like a popcorn maker - ran the whole night. several room at least affected. "oh so sorry"

3. place was full on a Saturday night. "free breakfast" was swamped. could nto even get coffee. suggestions: when full, you can't just have one small coffee carafe; have additional staff when full. Don't stay here if more than 50% full. They cant handle it.
(no coffee happened twice in the same AM - i did not even try to eat something)

4. so, not being able to get the free coffee, i went back to me room because i remembered a small coffee maker. Opened it up....yuck...filthy.

No credit, no discount. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We have addressed your feedback with the following actions:
1, Car horn: Our front desk agent and manager on duty identified the room with the beeping horn. Police and tow truck weren't called because it wasn't necessary; Guest was already willing to get new car parts if needed. We've reiterated standard procedures to record plate info for quick identification.
2. Hot water heater: Maintenance flushed out the hot water heater.
3 Coffee: We've reviewed output and checked feasibility/electrical requirements to double capacity with an upgraded brewer. Our apologies for the coffee delay; our free hot breakfast is very popular, and our coffee is delicious as witnessed by the 7 pots of coffee consumed in one hour!
We take pride in our hotel and do our best to keep problems from recurring. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for sharing your recent experience so that we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We didn't have high expectations based on reading reviews of this hotel.It was about what we expected: kind of run down. The manager and desk clerk were helpful. Our room was adequate but in several areas the woodwork and tub caulking needed repairs. I was nervous but no bed bugs!

The lock on the outside door at the end of our hall was broken, meaning anyone could enter the hotel at night. The manager said parts were on order.

There aren't restaurants close by and since we were traveling by bike we ordered a pizza.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Address: 25 Union Street, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.