We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Union Street, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Harpers Ferry
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the only motel of its kind the Harpers Ferry area, and it is excellent value at a very reasonable price. The room with two double beds was very comfortable and cozy with the table and chairs, large TV, microwave, fridge, iron, etc. Everyone on the staff was smiling and helpful, the lobby and all areas very clean and well maintained.
We stayed 2 nights, one of which there was only one other vehicle in the parking lot. Nonetheless both mornings we faced a full hot breakfast - waffles, danish, toast, bagles, cereal, biscuits, gravy, sausage patties and egg patties. An unbelievable offering for only a few guests.
We will use this motel for all our visits to the areas, and will tell our friends to do so also

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
24
50
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My Time was very good
the Desk Clerk Heather Was wonderful
She made sure we could find places we were looking for and offered places to eat and helped my wife and I in any way she could Our room was clean and taken care of nicely

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were passing through and stopped there fairly late in the evening. Young man on the front desk was frlendly and helpful. Room had everything needed and was well looked after. Young lady on the desk the next morning was equally as helpful and the breakfast did the job. Very happy with the one night stay.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor - I don't think they have an elevator to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are biking on the C & O Canal be sure to ask for a first floor room. Although they claim to be bike friendly, they don't offer anyplace to store your bike that is accessible except your room.

The rooms at the motel were decent and the breakfast was good.

Unfortunately, the motel isn't located near any place to eat and after a day of biking that was important to us. If you have a car it's a non-issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Harpers Ferry has had more than its share of hard times over the decades, but this fact has resulted in a bounty for visitors today. Because modernization -- ie, tearing down old buildings -- was slow to arrive here, there are dozens of historic buildings in the town. The violence that took place here has not been ignored, meaning you'll find history around many corners. The combination of lack of "progress" and historical preservation means natural beauty is easy to find in the area -- you can cross a highway bridge and see more green than buildings. And because the nature was never fully "tamed," recreational opportunities abound -- hiking, rafting, zip-lines, kayaking, biking, and tubing are easy to enjoy. Because visitors have a lot of reasons to come here, you'll have many choices on where to stay -- within the town itself or in nearby Charles Town. This Econo Lodge (formerly a Comfort Inn) is a good mix of value, comfort, being close to the city, and easy access to the main highway.

Stayed here primarily due to it being literally within sight of the Appalachian Trail. That it was also right off U.S. Highway 340, just beyond the bridge over the Potomac, was a bit of a bonus. However, this location is still just under a mile from the historic district, and about five miles to services in Charles Town. In other words, right on a major highway but not adjacent to anything.

Our room had full bath (a bit crowded), AC, fridge, microwave, hair dryer, iron & board, coffee maker, and TV with 32 channels. It was clean, quiet, and well-maintained. Staff was professional and friendly. Free amenities include parking, wi-fi, local calls, hot breakfast buffet, and PC with printer in the lobby. The motel has two floors but no elevator, which may be a problem. Room doors can only be accessed from the inside, and the desk at the front door seems to be staffed at all hours. We did note that our door did not shut unless you pull on it, which could be a problem if you are in a hurry to get somewhere.

This a motel centered on value for visitors, not necessarily charm or beauty or romance. For a place to stay while visiting here for a few days, it may well meet your needs at a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you don't want to take luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Great motel. Everything was clean and the bathrooms were pretty new. The staff were very friendly and accommodating of the various dirty appalachian trail hikers and long route bikers that we saw checking in. Can't beat the location being just a short drive or walk from historic harpers ferry and the at trail head.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My son was ending his hike of the AT at Harper's Ferry (HF), WV because he ran out of money so I decided to hike with him the last 56 miles or so, so that I could be with him when he reached the "1000 Mile" marker. Our last day into HF (July 4th), after spending the night at a hostel, we had a 22 miles hike. At ~18 miles my son's feet started burning bad. He couldn't understand why because he had hiked over 1000 miles with no major feet issues, and his last day they were burning. We finally got into HP and did not know where we could stay. We called several hostels & B & Bs but they were either full or they were to far for my son to walk. I found out there was an Econo Lodge and I called them. They were very nice and had a room but I explained to them we couldn't walk there because of my son's feet, and after putting me on hold, he came back and said he had talked to his manager and she was coming to pick us up at the train station. This was ~ 9:15pm on July 4th. We walked a block to the train station and in minutes, Yin drove up in her personal vehicle, and though we were dirty & stinky after hiking 22 miles in the heat, she brought us to the hotel. They were wonderful and the rooms were great, with the best beds I've ever slept on (They had recently replaced them and are top quality!). I found out later that YIN (manager) is normally gone by 6pm after working a long day and yet, for whatever reason, she was held up going home, and then she sacrificed another 1.5 hours before heading home to make sure we were taken care of. The morning breakfast was great too with more than I expected. All the staff was very nice and was focused on customer service. It is a stay that I will always remember and appreciate and if I ever return to Harper's Ferry, there's no question where I will stay. Thank You HP Econo Lodge !!!! You did great ! Oh yeah, it turned out, my son had an allergic reaction to the fabric softener, (when we did our laundry) at the Hostel the night before…

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Address: 25 Union Street, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.