We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Union Street, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Marion, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights while on vacation and I really liked this place and would stay here again. The room was clean, the front desk was helpful, and I felt safe. I liked the location also because it is about 1 hour from Washington DC and 1 hour to Gettysburg PA and I visited both places while I stayed here. The breakfast included yogurt, apples, cereal, biscuits, sausage patties, egg patties, bagels, boiled eggs, muffins, and juice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    53
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
28
53
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed here on September 28th and September 30th 2011, the rooms were clean and the staff there was great! I had just came in off the Appalachian Trail hiking and my friend and I got to the hotel well before the normal check in time (3:00 pm) but we needed a shower and some rest so we asked the day time clerk if she had a couple rooms that were ready. She checked availability and found each of us a room that we could have right away. The staff there is very helpful, I would stay there again. There morning breakfast is very good too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The motel was just ok - really the only thing going for it is it's location. Its walkable to the National Park but Lower Town is more than the 10 minute walk they say, but also easy drive to the railroad station/restaurant area. Small free breakfast area (maybe 1/2 dozen tables) but they had a make your own waffle machine so all was good. I just thought the price ($115 AAA rate on a summer Friday) was high for what you got and the area it was in. Not sure if there really is anything else nearby or you may need to go up the road to Charles Town. Also the restaurant reviews are correct - there really doesn't appear to be any great restaurants nearby. We ate a Cannonball Deli (sandwich was good but place was small and hot) and then at Pvt Quinn's Pub(again burger and beer ok) but on a summer weekend most of the place was closed and there were only three tables of customers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Tenn
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Comfort Inn has been there for 20 or more years and is a reliable and convenient lodging option if Harpers Ferry is your destination. It has interior corridors, a nice breakfast room, adequate staff service and it's clean and functional. It is possible to walk to the lower town historic district (about 1 mile, only 300 yards of which is along the highway). The other option in town is at the top of the hill near the shuttle bus stop, a Quality Inn, which is a renovated older property. I'd shop price between the two and if the Comfort Inn is less than $20 more expensive, I'd book it over the Quality Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Horrible, paid for a nonsmoking room and checked in and the room reeked of smoke. All other rooms were booked so we couldn't move. The window was open when we arrived so somebody obviously was smoking by the window, and the maids didn't notice? Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our group of 20 people spent the weekend at the Comfort Inn. The manager was more than helpful and accommodating. The hotel was basic, clean, and there was a good selection for the Continental breakfast. It was very close to the sights in Harpers Ferry, but a bit more than walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Comfortable room. Good breakfast. Fairly close to the C&O Canal Towpath. Has a hose to wash off the bike, and provides rags to clean the bike. No laundry room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear zron55:
Thank you for taking the time to write a factual review. Yes, we are bike-friendly and we offer a complimentary hot breakfast with fresh waffles daily. Due to popular demand, we now have a coin laundry facility on the premises. Thank you for your feedback! Sincerely, Yinching Lin-Chen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Address: 25 Union Street, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.