We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thimbleberry Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thimbleberry Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Thimbleberry Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
15021 Pageant Rd., Po Box 1007, P.O. Box 1007, Bayfield, WI 54814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Truly Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Normally, I prefer not to stay in B & B's, but my wife and friends wanted to stay at this particular inn and am I ever glad we did. As with all of the other reviews, we cannot say enough about this fabulous place and these truly wonderful innkeepers. Having stayed in many places in Bayfield (including other B & B's), I don’t believe there is a more peaceful, relaxing place in all of the Bayfield Pennisula than the Thimbleberry Inn. Every room has a beautiful, forested view of at least 4 of the Apostle Islands in Lake Superior. Since the Inn was designed and built specifically to be a Bed and Breakfast, every room is very large, well appointed, and accessible with inside and outside entry. Craig and Sharon Locey are two of the most comfortable people you will ever want to meet, and Sharon’s mastery in the kitchen makes breakfast one of the great memories you’ll take from your stay. An award winning chef and a culinary instructor, Sharon’s snacks, breakfasts, and oh, those morning muffins, will keep you coming back. The Thimbleberry Inn is a delight that just should not be missed. I will definitely be going back for more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
113
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Our stay was fabulous from the minute we got there until the time we left. Both Sharon and Craig were warm, friendly, and very helpful (ideas for restaurants and activities). They made the stay so relaxing. They are very knowledgeable about the area. We've been to lots of b&b's, but this one was special. You are greeted with warm muffins in the morning, a beautiful and delicious breakfast freshly made by Sharon, and an evening treat. It was comforting and easy to get used to. The property itself makes you appreciate the area as well. It sits right on Lake Superior and has a lovely view from any of the rooms and yard. The rooms were clean and modern, which we enjoyed. It's a one-of-a-kind place and feels magical. We hope to return again and want everyone to know what a wonderful place they have to offer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

If the technical college in Ashland still had a hospitality program, Sharon Locey and husband Craig would need to teach everyone else what seems so intuitive for them. If you're pulling together an itinerary in a pinch and need to make a good choice fast (as we did), rest assured Thimbleberry Inn will not disappoint. The innkeeper is a contributing editor for Taste of Home and has been featured in Lake Superior magazine and has heaping portions of gourmet food and good humor. As a convenience to us, she's also a pressureless yet detail-driven buyer's agent who showed us a quarter-share condo with little notice after breakfast. Admittedly, we're starting to reneg on the otherwise splendid condo. Who'd make breakfast and deliver service this stellar? One really can't teach that way of being to others, but Sharon and Craig Locey can show you how it's done extremely well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

After our third stay at the Thimbleberry Inn, I can't wait to return again. Everything is perfect - the quiet & remote location, the wooded surroundings and views of the lake, the clean and comfortable rooms, the evening treats and excellent hot breakfasts, the friendliness, knowledge and genuine hospitality of the owners, Sharon & Craig. Don't hesitate to stay here if you like to be away from the bustle and crowds in peacefull natural surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Milwaukee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We spent July 21st and 22nd at the Thimbleberry. Loved it! Sharon provided info and suggestions for area events and attractions that ensured we enjoyed our too short time in the area. Her breakfasts were awesome and the evening entertainment with the wildlife (fox, racoon, squirrels, deer, etc) made you realize you were truely "way up north." Her husband Craig's knowledge of the flora and fauna help you appreciate the natural beauty of the area. Thimbleberry is remote. No hustle and bustle like in downtown Bayfield but an easy 10-12 minutes from your parking space to the docks and downtown shops. Try it. I'm sure they'll make you love it too!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We chose this Inn for our first trip to Lake Superior based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were delighted to find the home as charming as anticipated. Sharon and Criag were friendly and helpful, but considerate about privacy. They recommended lots of things to do and places to eat. Courtney arrived each morning with a carafe of coffee and fresh hot muffins. 30 minutes later,
Sharon served a delicious and beautiful breakfast family style. Conversation was casual and friendly. Her dining area is open to the kitchen (as well as the beautiful view), so she joined in the conversation and had us all laughing.
The 3 rooms are huge with big windows and all have prime views of the water and Apostle Islands. Our room was very clean and had a beautiful view comfortable king bed and reading chairs. There are a few rules to ensure privacy and negate the need to cover the windows. It felt like our own private place in the woods on the very best lot you could imagine. The house is beautifully maintained and I'm so glad we got to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

I'm not sure what more you could ask for:
A bucolic location in the woods right on the shoreline of Lake Superior.
Nice rooms with floor to ceiling windows to take in the view.
The owner brings you coffee and warm muffins in your room, and then feeds you breakfast in a common area.
The owner is friendly, knows everything to do in Bayfield, and will help you with your entire stay.

There really isn't much more you could ask for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thimbleberry Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thimbleberry Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15021 Pageant Rd., Po Box 1007, P.O. Box 1007, Bayfield, WI 54814
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comtemporary custom designed Bed and Breakfast located on 360 feet of gorgeous Lake Superior frontage. View 8 of the Apostle Islands from the private dock. Each guest room has floor to ceiling windows facing the lake, private entrances, private baths and beautiful real maple hardwood floors. Gourmet coffee and muffins are delivered to your room at 8:00am as a wake-up call followed by a full breakfast in the dining room. An evening dessert treat is waiting in your guest room when you get back from supper. Coffee, teas, hot chocolate packets, apple cider packets and wine glasses are in each guest room. Truly a "Superior" experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thimbleberry Inn b&b
Thimbleberry Hotel Bayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thimbleberry Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.