We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail makes Pinehurst a great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinehurst Inn

Save Saved
You added Pinehurst Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinehurst Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   83645 State Hwy 13, Rt. 1 Box 222, Bayfield, WI 54814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Eco-Friendly
Ranked #3 of 18 Bayfield B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mason City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Attention to detail makes Pinehurst a great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Pinehurst has everything anyone would want in a B and B: a great location just a few miles from Bayfield, Wisconsin, Lake Superior and Madeline island; a beautifully restored mansion rich in natural woodwork and antiques; modern amenities such as private baths and whirlpools in some rooms; and an attention to detail that makes guests feel pampered. The beds are made with high-count sheets. Bathrooms are furnished with lavender bath salts and thick, thirsty towels. Breakfast includes fresh fruit, homemade breads, and delicious egg dishes. Hosts Steve and Nancy are gracious and well informed. They can tell you the best places to buy cider and smoked fish and can provide schedules for the ferry that leaves Bayfield for Madeline island. This was our first stay at the Pinehurst. It won't be our last.

Room Tip: One room features a balcony and a whirlpool. You may want to ask for it even though it's a littl...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Pinehurst prides itself on its envionmentally-friendly practices. For example, each room offers guests the use of a couple of metal water bottles to encourage avoidance of plastic bottles.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinehurstOwner, Owner at Pinehurst Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Over the years we've tried hard to incorporate more amenities and features as we learn from our guests. We are blessed with wonderful visitors and love sharing this place. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
98
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
madison, wi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I chose Pinehurst Inn for my weekend stay in Bayfield based on positive reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The grounds were lovely and the entire stay was relaxing and rejuvenating. I made my reservation at the last minute and was very glad there was availability, although I had to stay in two separate rooms (Birches and Brownstone). I enjoyed them both. They are located in the Garden House, a separate, newer structure on the property away from the main house. I was completely satisfied and enjoyed having my separate space. Both rooms had fireplaces and nice, deep whirlpool tubs. I appreciated many of the "small" touches they provide (e.g., water bottles to use during the day to help cut down on the purchase of plastic bottles). I didn't use it but I like that they have a sauna on the property. I hope to return one day and have a chance to give that a try. Breakfasts were well done. I enjoyed meeting the other guests and getting ideas of where to spend the day.

Green Features: I was willing to pay more to help support owner's who are committed to sustainability and enviornmentally- friendly practices.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinehurstOwner, Owner at Pinehurst Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We know sometimes switching rooms during a stay might be clumbsy for some - so pleased it worked for you! And yes, the sauna is popular - so you will definitely need to return and make use of this amenity. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've been to many B&B's throughout Minnesota and Wisconsin. Based on the reviews, we were really looking forward to staying at Pinehurst. We were disappointed. The room, bed, bathroom, were all average...ok but not welcoming...no décor to speak of. Hosts were not even there when we arrived. Steve was an excellent host but I felt like Nancy just wanted us to hurry up and get out of there so she could get on with her day. Maybe she's burned out. We stayed 2 nights and the breakfasts were pretty much the same--nothing to write home about. The coffee was excellent. We would not go back as our primary feeling was that we were tolerated for the money but not welcomed as guests.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main house for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinehurstOwner, Owner at Pinehurst Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We do appreciate you taking the time to post a review. While we always love glowing reviews, it is important that we pay attention to those reviews noting issues. We take to heart the comments you've provided.

Thank you again - Nancy & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed two nights at this wonderful B&B. Nancy and Steve are very friendly and helpful hosts. The breakfast was fantastic, it was a very good start of the day. Steve always presented the breasfast before we started - we liked that.
Both Nancy and Steve were helpful in recommending good restaurants. Thanks to Steve we tried first time ever to taste whitefish liver and it was delicious! This was at the Port Side restaurant just a mile from Pinehurst Inn.
We stayed in the Elisha room and we liked the room very much. So if you are travelling to Bayfield - the Pinehurst is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We can recommend the Elisha room
See more room tips
Green Features: We really appreciated the environmentally friendly practices
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinehurstOwner, Owner at Pinehurst Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your gracious review. We do appreciate your business and having the opportunity to share Pinehurst and Bayfield with you. Nancy & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful old home with lots of local history to go with it. Room (Elisha's) was quaint and bed was super comfy. The bath, sink arrangement in the bedroom area was a little awkward but it worked.
Hosts Nancy and Steve are nice people and run their business well. Its located about 3 miles out of town but that worked for us since it put us nearer the Apostle Island golf course, which, by the way, has got to be the best kept secret in Bayfield.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor suite looked interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

First off, the FOOD is amazing! My partner has a nut allergy and they took it into consideration every day that we were there. The inn keepers are two of the sweetest people and gave us many suggestions on places to eat and things to do in the area. We stayed in the catherine suite and could not have asked for a more comfortable bed or room. The lotion and other small amenities in the room made you feel right at home. I would recommend this place to any couple looking to get away and relax. Oh and coffee lovers? This is the place to go for delicious coffee!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I chose Pinehurst Inn for one night before heading off for a sailing trip in the Apostle Islands for a long weekend. The accommodations were comfortable and provided the rest we needed after a long drive. We stayed in Holly's room, and were too tired to use the whirlpool in the room that night, and were looking forward to using it in the morning. Too bad for us, we hadn't read the instructions that tell you not to use the jets early in the morning. A hot soak without the jets worked fine. Breakfast was delicious. Hosts were charming.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pinehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinehurst Inn

Address: 83645 State Hwy 13, Rt. 1 Box 222, Bayfield, WI 54814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinehurst Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Pinehurst Inn. Enjoy comfortable, relaxing guest room, heart-and soul-warming breakfast, Apostle Islands, Bayfield and more. Enjoy Enso Day Spa located on site, try the Pinehurst sauna.Pinehurst offers a variety of specials and packages.We accommodate special dietary needs.Connecting adventure, environment and personal rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Pinehurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinehurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.