We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Weekend Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinehurst Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pinehurst Inn to your Saves list
Pinehurst Inn
83645 Highway 13, Bayfield, WI 54814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay two nights -!0%.
Ranked #5 of 16 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
“A Perfect Weekend Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of the off-season rates to spend a mid-March weekend in the Cathrine Rittenhouse suite. All of the furniture was comfortable and in excellent condition, and the sitting area by the fireplace was just as cozy as we'd hoped; also, the double-bath, organic cotton sheets, and soft robes were luxurious. Speaking of luxury, make sure to save time for a couple of appointments at the Enso Day Spa behind the inn!

We were a little concerned that restaurants in town would be closed at this time of year, but there were still enough places open to provide several wonderful meals--I especially recommend Good Thyme and Coco Bakery in Washburn, and Maggie's in Bayfield. Even if there hadn't been so many good meal options, the delicious Pinehurst breakfasts would have kept us happy!

Nancy and Steve were both incredibly kind and knowledgable, and they helped us plan our drive across the ice road for a snowshoe hike on Madeline Island. We trusted their advice and had a fabulous afternoon in the state park there. Overall, it was truly a perfect weekend, and we can't wait to make another visit to Bayfield--with plans to stay at the Pinehurst, of course!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinehurstOwner, Owner at Pinehurst Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay! We are so fortunate to have wonderful guests! Steve and I look forward to seeing you both again soon. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
109
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in the Brownstone suite for 2 nights in early March 2013 for our Wolfsong dog-sledding trip, and were impressed with the accommodations. The building that the Brownstone suite is located has been remodeled and updated. The suite was large with a great hot tub/spa area, bathroom, sitting area, 3-way fireplace (really kicks out the heat), good-nights-rest bed, and balcony patio. There is also a large comfortable community room with a bank of windows facing the woods on the first floor with t.v., games, computer, music, small kitchen, etc.. The owners, Steve and Nancy, are friendly, helpful and put out a delicious breakfast spread. It is close to all attractions in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I took a weekend to get away and rest. This was the perfect place. The innkeeper, Steve, was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was served with elegance and the food was great. Conversation with Steve gave us helpful information about local activities and restaurants. The inn was clean and beautiful. It is two miles from some great cross country skiing, at Mt. Ashwabay. Lake Superior adds mystery and beauty to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay here recently. Gracious hosts, good food, a room that totally felt like home, and all the privacy desired. As mentioned by another poster, check out Wolfsong Dog Sledding if your time allows. We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadena, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our weekend stay at Pinehurst was just the relaxing event we were hoping for. Steve and Nancy were wonderful hosts and very helpful with suggestions for the area. The breakfast was perfect with juices from the area offered and a wonderful dish each morning that was very satifsfying. They are concerned about each of their guests and ask if there are any dietary restrictions which really impressed me. The beds, pillows, and sheets were amazingly comfortable and now I wish I would have purchased a set of the sheets before I left. Their location is close to everything without being in the middle of tourist chaos which we really appreciated because we really went there to relax with some quiet time which we really enjoyed. We will go there again next year for sure!

Room Tip: We chose Elisha's room for the coziness and the clawfoot tub. There were two windows in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a lovely weekend at the inn. Beautiful views , great hosts and just the right amount of quiet time. I love what the hosts are doing, so conscientous of the environment and still find a way to offer a comfortable getaway. The grounds were great for wandering even in the winter when covered with snow. The spa was relaxing. I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Pinehurst. We were greeted warmly and the room was very cozy and comfortable with a great claw foot tub. Breakfast the next morning was delicious but not overly heavy and the advice Steve gave us about hikes in the area turned out to be perfect and not what we would have found in the guidebook. We also really appreciated the dedication to environmentalism that the inn showed, from using local ingredients for breakfast to provided stainless steel water bottles to use. The only drawback is that it's not walkable to town. Overall, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinehurst Inn

Address: 83645 Highway 13, Bayfield, WI 54814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-elegant accommodations providing perfect setting for relaxation. Enjoy comfortable, relaxing guest room, heart-and soul-warming breakfast, Apostle Islands, Bayfield and more. Enjoy Enso Day Spa located on site. Try the Pinehurst sauna. Pinehurst offers a variety of specials and packages. We accommodate special dietary needs. Connecting adventure, environment and personal rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pinehurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinehurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.