We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayfield Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bayfield Inn
Save
You added The Bayfield Inn to your Saves list
20 Rittenhouse Avenue, Bayfield, WI 54814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Glenwood City, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family had a surprise anniversary party for our parents last weekend. We could not have asked for a more enjoyably day for this event. The staff, food and the establishment all far exceeded what we expected. We would recommend The Bayfield Inn to everyone for all future events and a place to stay while in Bayfield.

Room Tip: We had the Jacuzzi suite... very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    47
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
45
88
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bayfield, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently asked the bayfield inn to host a surprise 50th wedding anniversary for our family. From our first meeting to the end of the party, we were blown away by the service we received. And we couldn't be more pleased with how it all turned out. The staff was professional, courteous and went out of their way to make sure our party went smoothly and as planned. They understood our requests and made them a reality. We are so glad we chose this place to host such an important event for our family.

The food was AMAZING!! The chef really outdid himself. The food was plenty, delicious and hot. No one left hungry that's for sure. The meal was served buffet style. We had a chicken breast in champagne sauce, roast beef in au jus, rice pilaf, garlic baby red mashed potatoes and a wonderful vegetable medley. Our buffet also included a fresh garden salad with just the right amount of vinaigrette as well as delicious rolls. We were just thrilled with the food and the food service. YUM!!!

Guests who stayed at the hotel were very satisfied with their accommodations as well. They felt welcome and comfortable from check in to check out. This hotel has beautiful rooms.

We also utilized the bar services. The bar staff was friendly, professional and fun to be around. Drink service was prompt and even the wait staff helped deliver drinks.

The dining room in which we held our party was beautiful. Set up, linens and take down were included in the rental fee which meant one less thing for us to worry about. All we had to do was bring in our own table decorations and set them out. The view of Lake Superior was lovely, even if it was foggy outside. The space was great for being able to talk both individually at our tables as well as addressing the group. The large flat screen tv on the wall made showing a family slide show a breeze. We were very happy with this space. Bathrooms were Located close to the dining room and were very clean.

We cannot thank the entire staff of the bayfield inn enough for helping make a special day so wonderful!! We would highly recommend this facility for your party planning needs! We look forward to having another event there soon.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Bayfield Inn manages many properties in Bayfield, Wisconsin, and this is one of them. We spent three nights at the Washington Avenue Condo 202 and loved our stay. It was a beautiful condo with lovely furnishings and a well-stocked kitchen. The main floor had a dining/living room, kitchen, bedroom with a king size bed, and a large bathroom. The upper floor had a bathroom (with a jacuzzi) and a bedroom with a queen size bed. Everything was very clean, and the condo had WIFI. We enjoyed sitting out on the private balcony; it overlooked the parking lot, but there was a bit of a view of the water and it was great to be able to sit outside and enjoy the nice weather. We didn’t use it, but there was a BBQ on the balcony. The location was very convenient to downtown Bayfield's shops and restaurants and to the Madeleine Island ferry. Check in (and out) is at the Bayfield Inn. If you go to the Bayfield Inn's website, you will see all the options they have for places to stay - everything from condos and hotel rooms to homes and apartments.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We drove into Bayfield, Wisc. looking for a place to eat as it was off season and we were looking for some " pasties" a famous delicious local fare....so we stopped at the Bayfield Inn and talked to Carol at the front desk....she not only was determined to help us...she succeeded...made phone calls on our behalf...then since we did need a place to stay, Carol suggested we look at one of their condos , It was so charming and cozy with it's fireplace/ stove....just what we were looking for....WHAT A FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY!!!!! Then we had a wonderful lunch in their on site restaurant. Wouldn't want to stay any where else...plan on returning in the near future!!!!

Mike and Marykaye

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We visited Bayfield and Madeline Island in the 'off' season. It wasn't fall and it wasn't winter so we had cold without the snow. We were visiting this area as part of a trip down 'memory lane' for my husband who had spent time in Bayfield and Madeline Island 35 years ago and had not made a reservation anywhere.

Based on Tripadvisor reviews we decided to see if we could get a room for the night at the Bayfield Inn. The young man at the front desk was most helpful and we took a lake-view room. I am not sure if we were the only people staying at the hotel that night but it was wonderfully quiet. We went to our room at twilight and the view over the lake was lovely but not as spectacular as it was the next morning at sunrise!

Our room was beautifully decorated in a classic and elegant style - the bed was really comfy and the bathroom small but efficient (the bathtub seemed very small). The amenities were very nice and fragrant. A good sized-fridge, coffee-maker and good lighting completed the room. We had free WiFi which was great as well.

We did have a nice little walk through town but everything was closed except the grocery store where we picked up a few items for our road trip. Breakfast was not included in the rate but we didn't eat there anyway.

On a recommendation from the front desk person at our hotel we had dinner down the road at Maggies - a definite must-do when in Bayfield.

Would definitely stay here again but apparently you have to book 6 months in advance for a weekend in the summer!

Room Tip: Lakeview is the only way to go at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We reserved a room at the Bayfield Inn, but the main Inn was full so we took a room in the Silver Nail Guest House which is part of the Bayfield Inn but is about 3 blocks away. Check-in is at the Main hotel and they give you ice during check-in as there is none at the guest house.The house was originally built over 100 years ago but has been recently remodeled and updated. The rooms are nothing special but they are clean, comfortable and do have a jetted tub. Parking is on the street in front of the guest house. There is no lakeview but the guest house is only a block away from downtown so everything is within walking distance. Bayfield is a great destination, no matter where you stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We only stayed two nights but would have loved to have stayed longer. The rooms were clean and it was in perfect walking distance to the lake and many restaurants. Would definitely stay again!

The kitchen had dishes, coffee maker and there was even a grill. We were too interested in eating out to do much cooking but this would be great for longer stays when you just want a quick bite to eat.

Room Tip: There were two flights of stairs to get to the rooms - no elevator available.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayfield Inn

Address: 20 Rittenhouse Avenue, Bayfield, WI 54814
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayfield's premier lodging establishment located on the shoreline of the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. Our exclusive downtown location is central to restaurants, shops and attractions and within walking distance of the Apostle Islands Cruise Service, the Madeline Island Ferry Line, and Madeline Island Vacations. The Bayfield Inn is proud to announce a stunning new "retro" interior design for May 2013. The Inn reflects yesterdays charm with today's amenities and continues to raise the bar for "the Bayfield Lodging Experience". The Bayfield Inn has been serving Bayfield and it's visitors for close to 100 years. You will find our staff to be experienced, most courteous, and knowledgeable. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, adventure, wedding, family reunion, "girls" weekend or a corporate retreat/meeting, The Bayfield Inn offers a wide variety of lodging options to fit all needs and budgets. Choose from our 21 luxury hotel rooms or any of our centrally located Vacation Rentals to include condominiums, homes, apartments and suites. The Bayfield Inn is at your service. Secure complimentary high speed WiFi (30 mbps), HD programing to include HBO, and private off-street parking is available. Now serving Breakfast and Lunch Lakeside! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bayfield Hotel Bayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.