We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayfield Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bayfield Inn
Save
You added The Bayfield Inn to your Saves list
20 Rittenhouse Avenue, Bayfield, WI 54814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in garden guest house 2. Room was super modern and clean. Big tv. Good kitchen and bathroom. Comfy bed. We have 3 small kids and we put them to bed and were able to step out our back door to the deck and drink wine for 3 hours...conveniently purchased from the bar next door. Front desk staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    47
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
45
88
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in Garden #2 which had a sitting room, kitchen and deck. We were looking for a full kitchen because I have special dietary needs and cook some meals while traveling. We enjoyed everything about our stay except the weather. Would highly recommend. Our second time at the Bayfield Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed there over memorial day weekend. Perfect location, great view and great service. Even though there was a bar in the hotel it was nice and quiet. The view was looking out at a little park and lake superior. Right by the dock with sail boats and the ferry was just up the street, Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My business partner and I visited Bayfield twice this year, once in the heart of winter, and again in early spring. The staff is warm, helpful, and friendly, and they really go the extra mile. The food in their restaurant is delicious, they serve breakfast and lunch. And the rooms are newly renovated and tastefully appointed. And last but not least, the view is amazing. We can't say enough good about this property! Book it, don't hesitate!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My Fiance and I got married on a sailboat near Basswood Island on May 17th, 2013. The night before listed a 50 percent chance of rain that day, but the day ended up beautiful and we even had a nest with eagles overlooking our ceremony. As soon as my Fiance and I decided to have our ceremony in Bayfield, I knew our dinner reception had to be at the Bayfield Inn. My parents owned the Inn in the 70's and I grew up running around and interacting with the guests. I knew every inch of each level. I knew there had been several remodels and each time it was wonderfully improved. Ron and Tyler were very easy to work with and made sure everything for our dinner was perfect. They communicated regularly and assured us of each detail. The dining room has a spectacular view, the decor was beautiful, and our families loved every aspect. Of course we had to have fresh whitefish and the chef prepared it perfectly, as well as all of the other items. It is truly a special place for my family and my new family absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Bayfield inn. The room was comfortable and clean and I believe recently redecorated. Our room overlooked a pretty little park and Lake Superior. Thank you for morning coffee in room or lobby! We will be back to dine at your restaurant on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had to stay when Achilles destroyed our plans for camping. The staff is great and the rooms spotless. I had woken up with what I thought were them bugs, but I dismissed it as from hiking in the woods earlier. Second night no itch.

Room Tip: Although we stayed streetside to keep an eye on our gear, Lakeside is the way to go if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayfield Inn

Address: 20 Rittenhouse Avenue, Bayfield, WI 54814
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayfield's premier lodging establishment located on the shoreline of the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. Our exclusive downtown location is central to restaurants, shops and attractions and within walking distance of the Apostle Islands Cruise Service, the Madeline Island Ferry Line, and Madeline Island Vacations. The Bayfield Inn is proud to announce a stunning new "retro" interior design for May 2013. The Inn reflects yesterdays charm with today's amenities and continues to raise the bar for "the Bayfield Lodging Experience". The Bayfield Inn has been serving Bayfield and it's visitors for close to 100 years. You will find our staff to be experienced, most courteous, and knowledgeable. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, adventure, wedding, family reunion, "girls" weekend or a corporate retreat/meeting, The Bayfield Inn offers a wide variety of lodging options to fit all needs and budgets. Choose from our 21 luxury hotel rooms or any of our centrally located Vacation Rentals to include condominiums, homes, apartments and suites. The Bayfield Inn is at your service. Secure complimentary high speed WiFi (30 mbps), HD programing to include HBO, and private off-street parking is available. Now serving Breakfast and Lunch Lakeside! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bayfield Hotel Bayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.