We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Event Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayfield Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bayfield Inn
Save
You added The Bayfield Inn to your Saves list
20 Rittenhouse Avenue, Bayfield, WI 54814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Event Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My Fiance and I got married on a sailboat near Basswood Island on May 17th, 2013. The night before listed a 50 percent chance of rain that day, but the day ended up beautiful and we even had a nest with eagles overlooking our ceremony. As soon as my Fiance and I decided to have our ceremony in Bayfield, I knew our dinner reception had to be at the Bayfield Inn. My parents owned the Inn in the 70's and I grew up running around and interacting with the guests. I knew every inch of each level. I knew there had been several remodels and each time it was wonderfully improved. Ron and Tyler were very easy to work with and made sure everything for our dinner was perfect. They communicated regularly and assured us of each detail. The dining room has a spectacular view, the decor was beautiful, and our families loved every aspect. Of course we had to have fresh whitefish and the chef prepared it perfectly, as well as all of the other items. It is truly a special place for my family and my new family absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    47
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
45
88
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Bayfield inn. The room was comfortable and clean and I believe recently redecorated. Our room overlooked a pretty little park and Lake Superior. Thank you for morning coffee in room or lobby! We will be back to dine at your restaurant on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had to stay when Achilles destroyed our plans for camping. The staff is great and the rooms spotless. I had woken up with what I thought were them bugs, but I dismissed it as from hiking in the woods earlier. Second night no itch.

Room Tip: Although we stayed streetside to keep an eye on our gear, Lakeside is the way to go if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, WI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Over Presidents' Day weekend we had a family crisis. Could not be left alone at
home, on top of one of Bayfield's hills without a car in winter weather. Called The Bayfield Inn, and eventhough they were very busy that weekend, they made room for me and totally took care of me They drove me where ever I needed to go. Not only did I have breakfast & lunch there, but they also prepared an evening meal that I could have in my room so I wouldn"t have to go out in very icy conditions.
They made me feel safe & comfortale in the middle of a family crisis. Am telling
everyone I see. The Bayfield Inn is a 7 star Inn!
Theodora Spear, Bayfield, WI

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here in Feb 2013 during a girls weekend. It was the perfect spot for four girls. We utilized the kitchen and the location was very convenient. In fact, we didn't drive at all during our stay. We walked to Brownstone Centre to rent cross country skis (about $20 for the whole day) and we cross country skied from Bayfield to Madeline Island. It was a fantastic workout and loads of fun! We picked a weekend where visiting the island was very sad as two individuals had snowmobiled across the ice and fell in and died.

Overall, I would recommend the Washington Ave Condo. The only minor downside is that there was not cable tv (which was not an issue for us as we played board games during the evening) and we noticed there would a be some shortages of hot water when using the shower and tub. Great place for a girls weekend in Bayfield!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night last summer, and it was great! The location is right in the middle of Bayfield, and you can walk everywhere. The rooms are nice, and we loved the rooftop bar! Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I got to spend a lovely winter weekend here with 4 good friends. The condo was the perfect size for the 5 of us, with 2 shared beds and the pull-out couch in the den. The furniture in the main living area was very comfy and the kitchen had everything we needed. The fireplace was a huge plus! The location was also perfect as we were right downtown and could walk everywhere. The only reason it's only getting 4 stars is because of the view since we were on the ground level. The many windows just look out at an alley, a nice alley, but an alley. My guess is that the condos on the upper floors have nicer views of the lake.

Room Tip: There's nothing wrong with the ground floor condo, but the upper level condos probably have nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayfield Inn

Address: 20 Rittenhouse Avenue, Bayfield, WI 54814
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayfield's premier lodging establishment located on the shoreline of the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. Our exclusive downtown location is central to restaurants, shops and attractions and within walking distance of the Apostle Islands Cruise Service, the Madeline Island Ferry Line, and Madeline Island Vacations. The Bayfield Inn is proud to announce a stunning new "retro" interior design for May 2013. The Inn reflects yesterdays charm with today's amenities and continues to raise the bar for "the Bayfield Lodging Experience". The Bayfield Inn has been serving Bayfield and it's visitors for close to 100 years. You will find our staff to be experienced, most courteous, and knowledgeable. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, adventure, wedding, family reunion, "girls" weekend or a corporate retreat/meeting, The Bayfield Inn offers a wide variety of lodging options to fit all needs and budgets. Choose from our 21 luxury hotel rooms or any of our centrally located Vacation Rentals to include condominiums, homes, apartments and suites. The Bayfield Inn is at your service. Secure complimentary high speed WiFi (30 mbps), HD programing to include HBO, and private off-street parking is available. Now serving Breakfast and Lunch Lakeside! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bayfield Hotel Bayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.