We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayfront Inn
Save
You added Bayfront Inn to your Saves list
15 Front St, Bayfield, WI 54814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great View!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

All the rooms in the Bayfront Inn face the biggest lake in the country, Lake Superior. The Bayfront Inn is more like a motel than a hotel, but I think most of the "hotels" in the area are. The room was clean and cozy, with a private deck, facing the lake. The bathroom is a little small, and the sink isn't in the bathroom, which is nice when someone is taking a shower and someone else needs the mirror and sink. The Bayfront Inn is within walking distance to everthing in Bayfield.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

This place was just okay. Definitely is more of a $60 a night place than the $120 a night we paid. Kind of outdated and a little shabby. The view of the bay is nice, but not spectacular. My biggest complaint is that the room was quite noisy. Especially the plumbing. There was no way you sleep through someone in your room or an adjoining room flushing the toilet because it caused so much noise. I have never heard plumbing this loud. And I'm hardly used to top notch hotels. In general, the place was noisy, we were just lucky to not have any particularly loud neighbors cause even the quiet ones kept us up. I should mention though that the staff was very nice. Not a terrible place to stay but not worth the money, in my opinion. And not the place for you if you are a light sleeper!

  • Liked — The balcony
  • Disliked — The noise and shabbiness of the room.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

When I made the reservation, I was told that the room had a queen size bed, a jacuzzi and no balcony. The rate was $125.00 for one night. When I got there, I discovered THERE WAS NO WINDOW in the room. DO NOT STAY IN THIS ROOM IT IS AWFUL!
Make sure your rooom has a window BEFORE you book it at this motel.

  • Tips/Secrets — make sure your room has a window in it before booking it
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

I hope I am reviewing the right place, as the address we had for the Bay Front Inn is 15 Front Street, though a part of the place is on a corner, so it may have two addresses.

In any event, my husband and I stayed in Bayfield for only a night recently and I have very neutral feelings about this property, but decided to write a review since we absolutely loved Bayfield and there is so little else written about this motel here on Tripadvisor.

First of all, Bayfield is a cute little town with an ideal location right on Lake Superior at the northern tip of Wisconsin, with the Apostle Islands just off the coast. The setting is spectacular, and even though the town is a little touristy, it's still small and very quaint, and the Bay Front Inn has a great spot right on the first street overlooking the marina/harbor. Great views out to the lake.

The rooms themselves, at least ours, was of a good size and had a jacuzzi right inside the room, which also had a large sitting area at the end of the room, just inside of an outdoor deck overlooking the street across from the water. Even though the deck was a nice bonus, it was directly attached to the adjoining rooms' decks with no dividers other than an open railing, affording virtually no privacy......but a good way to make friends with your neighbors if you are so inclined!

The bathroom itself was very small, had a tiny sink with no counter, and was not very modern, but it did have a nice pedestal sink outside the room in a spacious area that also contained a large mirror and shelf over the sink.

There was a complimentary bottle of wine waiting in the room upon our arrival, but the service offered by the management was minimal. The front desk was also a video rental office, so managing the inn did not seem to be a priority. In fact, even though they promised coffee and donuts in the morning in the office, the place was all locked up and inacessible when we left about 7:30 in the morning.

  • Liked — A beautiful setting on the lake
  • Disliked — A small, outdated bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Buy something for breakfast and store in the frig if you're leaving early in the morning.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2004

Bay Front Inn probably has the best location of any Bayfield hotel. It's more of a motel than hotel. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite that was clean and bright. It was a little dated, but the bathroom and beds were very clean. The carpet was a little iffy - with some large stains. There was a balcony overlooking the marina - a really, really beautiful view. Because we were staying in the hotel, we got 50% off on our breakfast at the Pier Plaza restaurant which is connected to the hotel. The food was basic, but hot and filling. I would say this is a three star hotel/motel and was probably one of the best in Bayfield.

Our neighbor in the room next store stated that she had mice in her room at the Harbor View, so you might want to avoid that hotel. The Harbor's Edge looked decent, with a nice location and the Winfield looked decent also - I didn't go into either of these hotels, but from the outside they looked ok.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 15 Front St, Bayfield, WI 54814
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.