We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingingly good value and nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seagull Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Bay Motel
Save
You added Seagull Bay Motel to your Saves list
325 S. Seventh Street, Bayfield, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
“Surprisingingly good value and nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This was one of three places we stayed that weekend, and was the one we liked best. It was also the least expensive! Our room was minimal, but perfectly adequate. Each room opens to a long communal porch spanning the back of the building with a view of the lake. There is also a walking path behind the motel which takes you right into town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    41
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
57
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
gr, michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

What a nice place! We arrived later than we had planned and found a note at the reception desk welcoming us and telling us where our room was located. The lights were on and we were ready to relax after a long day on our motorcycle. It was very clean and had a great view of Lake Superior. We highly recommend this motel and would have liked to stay an extra day or two to fully enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Many thanks to these TripAdvisor reviewers - they helped us find the Seagull. I can only reiterate what others have said: Fabulous views. Fabulous and incredibly helpful innkeeper. As has been pointed out, the Seagull is not fancy. No chintz or bathrobes - not that we all don't enjoy those things sometimes. The Seagull does what it does incredibly well, at a very good value. Think retro style motel but impeccably clean, with the best possible views, great internet signal (free), invaluable local knowledge and advice from the owner, lovely sound of Lake Superior waves, breeze through your open windows. As pointed out, there is no air conditioning. We used the fan in the window one night. We were very comfortable. Loved sitting out on the lawn in the lawn chairs. Had a picnic of local smoked fish at the picnic table. The trail/path to town was incredibly convenient. We'll be back! Thank you, Mike.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My family and I recently stayed at the Seagull Bay. We enjoyed the stay and the owners were very friendly and helpful. This place is not super fancy or anything and almost like a cabin type feel, but definately met our needs for the trip. The grounds and view are very nice with lots of tables and chairs to sit in and you cant beat the rates. The only thing I found a bit odd that I would sort of expect in any level of motel, was no shampoo, no iron, and no hair dryer. The office did provide an iron when we asked, but it would have been nice to have these items available without having to ask. The other thing was that the weather was around 85-90 degrees the weekend we were there and there was no air conditioning. It got pretty warm in our room especially during the day and it would have been nice to have A/C since sometimes even the breeze from Lake Superior is not enough to be comfortable. There was a fan in our room which helped some. I would stay at Seagull Bay again and would recommend it. Just keep in mind all of these things and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I've stayed at Seagull Bay many times & it's always a great experience. As many other have said, great location, incredible views, super clean rooms and it's very reasonably priced. Mike is almost always on the property and super friendly, if you're looking for something to do or a good place to eat, he has plenty of recommendations.

The complaints about the towels are really nonsense, they' not huge, plush bath wraps, but they do the job. I did ask Mike about it and he said basically "we're not the Ritz Carlton, but we're not priced like it either" and added that if anyone had a problem w/ the towels in their room, he'd be more than happy to open up a new pack and let you have your pick.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I felt like I was family. A great view of the big lake, a nice walking path, close to town, CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE!!! Affordable too. They met every need without being intrusive. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed with my best friend for a long weekend. I have only good things to say about the motel. The people were very nice and helpful. The rooms were big, clean and the view was great. They have free WI-FI. There is a path that takes you right to town. It was faster then driving. Weird.... Yes stay here... I don't think they have air tho we had a fan in our room, I never asked because it wasn't hot when we were there. If you need air ask first.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seagull Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Bay Motel

Address: 325 S. Seventh Street, Bayfield, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Seagull Bay Hotel Bayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagull Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.