We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locally owned motel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seagull Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Bay Motel
Save
You added Seagull Bay Motel to your Saves list
325 S. Seventh Street, Bayfield, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Middle Tennessee
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great locally owned motel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed one night in Bayfield because we took the Apostle Island cruise. I choose the Seagull because of the good reviews and we were not disappointed. The service is excellent and the room was small, but comfortable. We were on the ground floor with a view of the lake. However we had to close the blinds for privacy as everyone was walking by. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast and doesn't have a/c. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    46
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
60
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great stay in one of the big cabins on the main property. We had our own big deck that overlooked Lake Superior -- a million-dollar view! The cabin was bigger than we needed but it was all they had left, so we enjoyed all the extra space. The owners are super nice and helpful. Although it is not right in Bayfield's main business area, there is a lovely graveled path that leads right down to the restaurants and shops and it only takes about ten minutes to walk there. Our only problem was that it was unseasonably hot when we were there, and none of the rooms had air conditioning so we found it a bit hard to sleep. But I doubt if it is normally that warm in Bayfield because you would imagine they would get a nice breeze off the lake. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Where else can you get this kind of a view for $75/night. Biggest complaint was no a/c as it was unusually hot when we were there, not much privacy since windows had to stay open the whole time. The mgmt was very friendly and helpful. Other people we met there were all repeats so I guess that says a lot but to me the no a/c is a huge concern.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosholt, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

One word describes this property: Awesome!

It is clean, quiet and conveniently located. The view is spectacular to say the least! The owners are very friendly and helpful. We walked to town taking the path along the lake, which was a very easy stroll. Our room was on the second floor and had a kitchenette -- the perfect setup for us. Thanks for making our stay a perfect one, and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merriam, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our third visit to the Seagull Motel and cannot wait to go back. Wonderful owners, clean rooms, economical, great location, relaxing and peaceful. Owners are always available to help make your visit the best it can be. We enjoy walking and many routes are available either on the walking path right next to the motel or thru Bayfield. Many great restaurants in the area and unique shops. We enjoy trips to Cornucopia and the many orchards in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Two main things stick with me about my visit to the Seagull Bay Motel. First, the view is amazing. I spent two long evenings on the back deck simply staring at the water. Second, the owners are extremely friendly. Mike and Jeanne were happy to answer all of our questions. I'm sure they're very busy, but they made it seem like they had all the time in the world to help us out.

I had read other reviews before coming to Seagull Bay, which complained about threadbare linens and no a/c. I noticed nothing unusual about the towels or sheets, and an a/c was unnecessary, since the lake breeze kept our room cool. We used the room's box fan and ceiling fan at night, but that was mostly because we like white noise.

When we checked out, Mike told us he would be here when we came back, and we definitely plan to pay another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Friendly staff ,great view ,nice rooms ,great service would go again.No AC but it cooled off enough at night. Nice deck facing the lake with beautiful view. Short walk to town along the lake for all your sightseeing and meals. Had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seagull Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Bay Motel

Address: 325 S. Seventh Street, Bayfield, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Seagull Bay Hotel Bayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagull Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.