We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed For a Romantic Weekend...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seagull Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Bay Motel
Save Saved
You added Seagull Bay Motel to your Saves list
325 S. Seventh Street, Bayfield, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Hurley, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Stayed For a Romantic Weekend...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a romantic weekend in the off season. We received a "deal" and the place was very acceptable. This is sort of a "ma and pop" place with very few amenities. We dined out and the office staff was family and was only available when they were awake. This is not a bad thing if you know this ahead of time. We wanted to check out early and the office was closed. Again, not a big deal but with credit cards the way that they are, I would liked to have a hard copy rather than having to call back to see what was on my credit card. Try it, you may like it...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    36
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had a 3BR house right on the lake. Lovely deck, sunroom, and a sauna, which we didn't use. Only one bathroom. This is nothing luxurious, but a 3BR house on the lake for 3 people for $115 is a fantastic deal in Bayfield. No AC, but the windows open.

Staff very friendly and accommodating. I'd stay here again. They didn't double their prices for AppleFest as some places do when there's an event in town, a major plus for them!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

All previous reviews of the Seagull Bay Motel are pretty accurate. No AC. Thin towels. When the blinds are closed and windows open, cool air can't come in which makes for a warm night. There is a box fan and that helps. But Bayfield rarely has too many warm nights-even in summer. We just hit an unusually warm September 6-8. Nothing fancy. Fabric on chairs stained. Check-out early at 10a.m. Kind of a minimalist experience. But....While dated (and needing refreshing) the room was clean and everything we needed. Comfortable bed. Nice TV with a good channel selection. Functioning bathroom with hot water. Small fridge, microwave and coffee maker with all the free coffee you want plus more in the office. Exceptionally friendly,helpful owners. And the star of the show---the VIEW. Right on Lake Superior!!! Worth every penny. Plus the path into town has you there in minutes without doing the hills. Two years ago we stayed in an old house which was part of one of Bayfield's main hotels, paid 3 times as much and had no view of the water or the ammenities. So what if Seagul is not the Ritz--we used our money saved for a fantastis dinner at Wild Rice and went sailing for an afternoon. Wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Unit 2 gives you a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The view & location were great but there was no air conditioning. There is also no ventilation when the blinds are closed and you do need to close the blinds for privacy because the rooms had connecting balconies. So if the temperature is over 70 the rooms are stuffy. Very cramped bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Seagull Inn many times over the past twenty years, and always love being there. The owners, the view, the non-smoking policy, and the cleanliness of the rooms brings us back every time. Even in the dead of winter it is pleasant there. Simple and comfortable is the key. Only thing I wish was that dogs were not permitted. I am not a dog lover, and don't enjoy the thought of an animal having been in the same room with their dander and other things. Maybe they only have a few select rooms available for dogs, but not sure. In any case, it hasn't stopped me from returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Seagull Bay Motel this summer. Absolutely loved the view - you are right on Lake Superior and all of the rooms do have a view. I felt the room was nice and clean. We were a little surprised that there was no AC in the room, but I'm sure Bayfield normally doesn't get too warm in the summer, and there is a good breeze coming off the lake to help you sleep well at night. There is also no continental breakfast, but we just planned to keep breakfast foods with us - there is a fridge and micro that help you save money by eating in every once in awhile. The price is the best in town (we pd $75/night + tax) - after checking out a few other places to stay in town, no one else came close to this price. The motel is just a few minutes walk into town - there is a nice trail along the lake that takes you into Bayfield. We spent a couple nights just walking into town for dinner and drinks. We would definitely choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I am personally tickled pink that this place is so militant about smoking. As an ex-smoker, I can say that a stinky smoking room is the worst thing to come home to after a day on the road.

So kudos to the management. A clean place, we had a kitchenette and a comfortable room with a pull out couch for the kids. Amazing views of the bay (you really want a bay view room).

The first floor bay view rooms all have a door that exits to a grassy area with picnic tables , a bbq grill, and great scenery. The upstairs rooms have a common balcony, but I preferred the grass. (we also had chairs and a concrete patio outside the room)

Check out is a bit early (I think 10am) considering how nice the locale is, I would think 11 to be a bit more reasonable. Nice path to town right from the back, but our walk was a bit hurried because of aforementioned check out time.

Everything else was great here, would recommend it over the chains in Ashland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seagull Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Bay Motel

Address: 325 S. Seventh Street, Bayfield, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Also Known As:
Seagull Bay Hotel Bayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagull Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.