We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pier Plaza

Pier Plaza
1 Rittenhouse Ave, Bayfield, WI 54814
(715) 779-3330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice enough place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location, nice cozy dining room, decent food. Loved the pickled herring appetizer just because you don't see that every day. Nice patio area to eat outside if its warm enough, great view of the water.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    50
    21
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“so much food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ate here for our Anniversary, wasn't busy, which was good. I ordered the BBQ Ribs, and hubby had the Pork Medallion dinner. We could have ordered one dinner and spit it! Seeing we were traveling we couldn't really take what we didn't eat, but I did take what ribs I had left with. Our waitress was excellent. Loved the view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Came to eat here because it was one of the only places that didn't seem incredibly expensive. We both fully intended to eat fish, since that's just something you should do while you are in Bayfield, but as soon as I glanced at the menu I knew I had to try the buffalo mac n cheese. The dinner was very good, and the mac n cheese had a great buffalo sauce flavor without being spicy (which was disappointing for me, but I think most would definitely enjoy this!). My boyfriend got a baked whitefish and was not disappointed. The drinks were a different story...ordered a brandy old fashioned sweet, and it tasted like I was drinking pure rubbing alcohol with some cherries in it. Fortunately it was cheap, and there is enough of a beer and wine selection that I could have gotten something else if I had wanted to. The view of the water is great. The music was a bit strange...unless you like to hear Outkast's "Hey Ya" made into a slow song to appease a dinner crowd who is too busy to notice how raunchy it is. We got a good laugh out of that one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit Lake WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We enjoyed the soup of the day and sandwiches. There was so much to choose from, it was hard to decide, but the food was delicious and fairly priced! Perfect location, near the harbor, too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Food was average but the service made the difference. Ribs were good but a little sweet. We were there on a Saturday night and it was easy to get a table right away.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Pier Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.