We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky place, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greunke's

Greunke's
17 Rittenhouse Avenue, Bayfield, WI 54814
715-779-5480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 15 restaurants in Bayfield
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Funky place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Walking into the Greunke's is like going back to a small town, 1960's local bar. The food is good, a "diners, drive-in and dives" type menu, there is lots of it, and reasonably priced. A good place for breakfast, or dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    38
    33
    23
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

On our way home from a trip to Madeline Island, we stopped into Greunke's for breakfast. We were not disappointed. My daughters and a friend accompanied me. Two had hot oatmeal with raisins and brown sugar...it was probably the best oatmeal we've ever eaten in a restaurant. My oldest had a cinnamon roll and sausage, again a really tasty choice. I opted for a Ham and Cheese omelet. It was absolutely outstanding. Wish I had one in front of me right now...YUMMERS! Great ambience, lots to look at ... a little quirky. Take note: their sign says "Fine Food" which almost made me skip it, as I figured prices would be high. The prices were very reasonable and I am so glad that we chose to pop in for breakfast, it was a lot of fun! We truly enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong for any meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Breakfast was excellent and great coffee--cup always full! Great service. Interesting atmosphere gives you something to do while you wait. John Kennedy, Jr. stayed in the hotel there and that was very interesting to read about on the wall. Dinner--steak was excellent. Could eat every meal there and never go wrong!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“mixed adventure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

our waitress was clearly overwhelmed. she seemed confused and was a bit too forthright about being overwhelmed. I loved the setting and the memorabilia. it was fun to just look around. the fish was fairly basic

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, WI
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun place and the food was good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I liked the setting. Waiter was not real good, but seemed like a nice young man. Just made a few mistakes and luckily we had no where to b because service was really SLOW!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greunke's also viewed

 

Been to Greunke's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greunke's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.