We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingos & Whitefish on Lake Superior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maggie's Restaurant

Maggie's Restaurant
257 Manypenny Avenue, Bayfield, WI 54814
715-779-5641
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Bayfield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Flamingos & Whitefish on Lake Superior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you go to Bayfield in the Winter, Maggie's is a great place to dine. In late Fall (usually thru November) Friday Fish Fry is fresh caught herring, caught that afternoon. When the herring are not running, there is always Whitefish profiled, sautéed, in sandwiches and whitefish livers. There is a broad variety on the menu including great burgers and homemade pizza. The deserts are wonderful, including a vast array of sorbets with favors like lavender or creme brûlée. The bar is great, the decor original and the servers are wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    115
    52
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delafield, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lunch at Maggie's Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After the ferry from Madeline Island, the captain recommended Maggie's. We are glad she did. Deep-fried herring filets and fresh cole slaw - YUM.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fun and yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Maggie's is a delightful, fun place to eat. It's a favorite with the locals, which says a lot! The food is fresh and creative, and the desserts are worth saving room for! I loved the pumpkin crime brûlée, and my husband was fanatical about the apple and the blueberry pie! The full bar is good, and the wine list is very nice! The pizzas are fresh and well made, and the French fries rock! I've recommended Maggie's many times. We've never been disappointed!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Maggie's was recommended to us by one of the local shopkeepers. We were looking for a casual place to have dinner with a unique atmosphere. Maggie's did not disappoint. From the friendly wait staff to the good food, Maggie's delivered. We can easily recommend this restaurant for families and couples looking for friendly faces, good service, and quality food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have been a frequent visitor of Magggie's Lately it is hit or miss and tonight was a miss. Crab cakes were soggy and drowning in aoloi sauce and the $9.50 salad was small in my opnion for the price and that was just greens. I am sure I will be back for another try. It is the only place openin the off season.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maggie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggie's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.