We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Landmark Restaurant at Old Rittenhouse Inn
301 Rittenhouse Ave, Bayfield, WI 54814
+1 715-779-5112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $55
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We chose this restaurant when we saw the menu at the B and B where we were staying. I couldn't get out of there fast enough. There is no menu. You have to wait for the server to recite the menu to you. And there is only one reciter. Unfortunately this is not at all what we wanted to do. After you have already heard her tell the menu to the table next door - which took about 10 minutes- you are not in the mood to hear it again. At least I wasn't.

The description on their web site is "casual fine dining". I did not feel it was casual. It was very formal and constraining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Landmark Restaurant at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are sorry this reviewer did not enjoy the verbal menu recitation. Most of our guests find it to be a fun part of the evening, a bit of showmanship to go with an incredible meal in a historic building. While we can't be all things for all people, we do have PRINTED menus available at all times, and they are also posted on our web site, our front entrance, and in our lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    17
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a most excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

the house is beautiful and the food was the best. the hostess was wonderful in describing the meal and how it was made that I thought she made it herself. A breathtaking view to top off the perfect start of your day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross Ca.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I guess we missed the memo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate at the Inn last night. I want to be very clear that the quality of the food and wine selection was fine. Our food was fine and the wine prices were very reasonable. Most of the people in the room seemed to be celebrating special occasions and having a wonderful time. Our problem is that we are from out of town and when we called to make dinner reservations we had no idea, nor were we told that this restaurant specialized in either two or five course meal selections. Had we known this, we would not have booked our dinners. We arrived at the Inn and were seated by a young man and ordered a bottle of wine which was delivered to our table in a quick manner. Things are looking good at this point. We asked to see the dinner menu and were told that it was not written down and out wait person would be around soon to give it to us verbally. Normally when on the road we will order a starter each and share an entree. No so tonight. During the next hour we heard the menu of the day being told to six tables around us. The menu presentation took about 10 minutes per table. It was almost like a Chinese water tourtière over and over. Please owners of this restaurant...If you have a CUTE system in the way that you run your dining room GREAT, but please let people know at the time that they book their table the type of show you run. We would not have chosen to dine at your Inn, and will not return. Remember we have no complaints with your food......just your systems.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Landmark Restaurant at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are glad the reviewer found our food, wine, and prices fine. However, we are sorry the reviewer did not enjoy the verbal menu recitation. Most of our guests find it to be a fun part of the evening, a bit of showmanship to go with an incredible meal in a historic building. While we can't be all things for all people, we do have PRINTED menus available at all times, and they are also posted on our web site, our front entrance, and in our lobby. Kind regards from the Phillips family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best 5 course dinner in the loveliest venue ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Every bit of food was a delight. The owners obviously take great pride in the menu. Menu is described table side lovingly and mouthwateringly! This is our second dinner at the Inn and we will definitely go back again. What a beautiful place and truly nice people running it. A treasure on the North Shore.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner in a friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The five course dinner starts with Jerry Phillips presenting the menu in a manner worth the price of the dinner. What a fine intro to the experience to come. The greens were so fresh that they must have been picked just hours before. The two men in our party had the Pork Chops and they were everything that Jerry described and then some. Our wives had a Whitefish that was just as good. The desserts were as wonderful as the rest of the meal. This is an exceptional dining experience worthy of any large city's finest eatery. Don't miss it if you are in Bayfield.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landmark Restaurant at Old Rittenhouse Inn also viewed

 

Been to Landmark Restaurant at Old Rittenhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Restaurant at Old Rittenhouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.