We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh so fine.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sagamore Hills, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Oh so fine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I and my two children were the happy guests of Joanne and Paul's lovely 'Jacob Rohrbach Inn' this August.
We stayed in the stand alone Summer Kitchen that was called The General's Quarters. We could not have been happier with the accommodations! I was so happy with the suite...beautifully furnished and appointed...it was worth every penny.
We were met at check-in by Joanne and Paul and were given refreshment and a plethora of information on area sites to see, places to eat and driving directions to all of the above. This couple remained attentive at all times, but never were intrusive...indeed, they were perfect!
Breakfast was such a treat. Joanne and Paul make a multi-course meal that is refined and delicious. The conversation around the table with our Hosts and other guests was convivial and much enjoyed. On both mornings we lingered at the breakfast table longer than I planned...this is a good problem to have.
I will be back!

Room Tip: 'The Generals Quarters' is a stand-alone suite. I didn't realize this at booking time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    19
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
134
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Perfect place to stay to keep the quiet mood evoked by visiting the Antietam battlegrounds that are only a few minutes away. Period room but with 21st century shower, wifi, DVDs. Hosts considerate and knowledgeable. Breakfast included wonderful home grown, home made treats and the company of interesting guests; Joanne described the history of the house and family again evoking compassion for those caught up in the civil war - all wars. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in- Stonewall Jackson, has it's own entrance to the garden and small private p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were greeted warmly by Joanne upon our late-day arrival and given an orientation to the house, then taken to see out room. It was lovely and really gave us the feeling of having stepped back in time.The Inn is a great compliment to Sharpsburg's and the surrounding Antietam Creek area's quiet dignity.
When we inquired about nearby dining options, we were provided a great, "insider's" listing of establishments both local and at a short driving distance from the Inn. We opted for the Old South Mountain Inn for dinner and were thrilled with our meal and their great service! A perfect fit for our stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn! Our room was large and had a separate sitting room and bath adjacent, a great outdoor porch with a separate staircase and antique furnishings and fixtures. The beds were very comfortable and the room had it's own A/C which I appreciated in the humid weather during our visit. The breakfast was homemade, healthy and delicious and the conversation with our fellow guests was lively and convivial. I highly recommend a stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn to anyone wanting an "authentic" Sharpsburg/Antietam experience. My only regret was that we only had time to stay one night. Next time, we'll book a few days to really allow the special enrichment of the Inn, the Town and the Battlefield enter us fully.

Room Tip: We LOVED the Harpers Ferry Suite (Corner and Porch included) though would ave been be happy in any r...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they compost kichen waste and minimize energy consumption with some improvements they made to the home after acquiring it such as insulation and storm/screens to keep heat/cool in depending on the season. Energy-efficient lighting was in evidence all around.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you're planning to visit Antietam National Battlefield in Sharpsburg, Md., the absolute best place to stay is the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. It's historic, beautifully maintained and very convenient. Joanne and Paul Breitenbach are gracious hosts and full of information about their inn and the battlefield itself. Joanne's breakfasts are fantastic and she also offers tips on the fine dining options in the area. I've stayed at the inn three times and I always look forward to the next visit. The serene beauty of Antietam and the comfort of a stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a great combination.

Room Tip: The Clara Barton room may be haunted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The wonderful owners of this B and B Could not be more accommodating. The inn is lovely,
Grounds beautiful. The ambiance is very home like without being intrusive.

. The Food is always delicious.. Joanne is very helpful in helping us to choose restaurants and nearby activities. It is like visiting an old friend.

We come every year to attend the contemporary american theater festival . Great discussions of plays around breakfast table.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were lucky there had been a cancellation at the end of the 4th of July weekend for us to get a room at this B&B. Unfortunately, we only had one night there. Our room was like half the floor with a sitting room and our very own private entrance. Joanne, our host, was very friendly, knowledgeable about the area, history of the house and a great cook! Her home-made shortbread cookies are to die for! They even rented my daughter and I a CD set for us to tour the battlefield in our own car for $5. The tour guides through the visitor center at the battlefield are approximately $75 and for the same CD set, $30 to purchase. My daughter loves Belgian waffles, so that's what Joanne made for breakfast the next morning - very nice. We'd definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The B & B is very nice; unfortunately, I became ill, & I was hospitalized. So, we had to check out early. All that added up to a very expensive visit.
The innkeeper is very informative, businesslike and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Room was Stonewall Jackson room and it is spacious & comfortable. A little area outside the room is there for relaxing and a glass of wine or cup of coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sharpsburg landmark since 1804, historic ambiance with all modern amenities at the heart of the Antietam Historic Area. The privacy of a hotel with the charm, grace and comfort of a B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob Rohrbach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list