We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful 'out-of-time' place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Save
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list
138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“peaceful 'out-of-time' place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Perfect place to stay to keep the quiet mood evoked by visiting the Antietam battlegrounds that are only a few minutes away. Period room but with 21st century shower, wifi, DVDs. Hosts considerate and knowledgeable. Breakfast included wonderful home grown, home made treats and the company of interesting guests; Joanne described the history of the house and family again evoking compassion for those caught up in the civil war - all wars. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in- Stonewall Jackson, has it's own entrance to the garden and small private p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmjhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were greeted warmly by Joanne upon our late-day arrival and given an orientation to the house, then taken to see out room. It was lovely and really gave us the feeling of having stepped back in time.The Inn is a great compliment to Sharpsburg's and the surrounding Antietam Creek area's quiet dignity.
When we inquired about nearby dining options, we were provided a great, "insider's" listing of establishments both local and at a short driving distance from the Inn. We opted for the Old South Mountain Inn for dinner and were thrilled with our meal and their great service! A perfect fit for our stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn! Our room was large and had a separate sitting room and bath adjacent, a great outdoor porch with a separate staircase and antique furnishings and fixtures. The beds were very comfortable and the room had it's own A/C which I appreciated in the humid weather during our visit. The breakfast was homemade, healthy and delicious and the conversation with our fellow guests was lively and convivial. I highly recommend a stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn to anyone wanting an "authentic" Sharpsburg/Antietam experience. My only regret was that we only had time to stay one night. Next time, we'll book a few days to really allow the special enrichment of the Inn, the Town and the Battlefield enter us fully.

Room Tip: We LOVED the Harpers Ferry Suite (Corner and Porch included) though would ave been be happy in any r...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they compost kichen waste and minimize energy consumption with some improvements they made to the home after acquiring it such as insulation and storm/screens to keep heat/cool in depending on the season. Energy-efficient lighting was in evidence all around.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you're planning to visit Antietam National Battlefield in Sharpsburg, Md., the absolute best place to stay is the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. It's historic, beautifully maintained and very convenient. Joanne and Paul Breitenbach are gracious hosts and full of information about their inn and the battlefield itself. Joanne's breakfasts are fantastic and she also offers tips on the fine dining options in the area. I've stayed at the inn three times and I always look forward to the next visit. The serene beauty of Antietam and the comfort of a stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a great combination.

Room Tip: The Clara Barton room may be haunted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The wonderful owners of this B and B Could not be more accommodating. The inn is lovely,
Grounds beautiful. The ambiance is very home like without being intrusive.

. The Food is always delicious.. Joanne is very helpful in helping us to choose restaurants and nearby activities. It is like visiting an old friend.

We come every year to attend the contemporary american theater festival . Great discussions of plays around breakfast table.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaT474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were lucky there had been a cancellation at the end of the 4th of July weekend for us to get a room at this B&B. Unfortunately, we only had one night there. Our room was like half the floor with a sitting room and our very own private entrance. Joanne, our host, was very friendly, knowledgeable about the area, history of the house and a great cook! Her home-made shortbread cookies are to die for! They even rented my daughter and I a CD set for us to tour the battlefield in our own car for $5. The tour guides through the visitor center at the battlefield are approximately $75 and for the same CD set, $30 to purchase. My daughter loves Belgian waffles, so that's what Joanne made for breakfast the next morning - very nice. We'd definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The B & B is very nice; unfortunately, I became ill, & I was hospitalized. So, we had to check out early. All that added up to a very expensive visit.
The innkeeper is very informative, businesslike and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Room was Stonewall Jackson room and it is spacious & comfortable. A little area outside the room is there for relaxing and a glass of wine or cup of coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentleybeagledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, mD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is really the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in. The antebellum house, the food, the setting, the graciousness and helpfulness of the hostess. Our room was in the old summer kitchen of the house. It was quiet and perfectly appointed. We arrived exhausted and felt right at home. Our hostess knew the area well and was extremely helpful with suggestions. She also wanted to know what we thought of the places we went. The gardens around the house were lovely and there were nice places to sit outside. Our main goal of our stay there was to bike ride in the Antietam battlefield, enjoy the local history and do some hiking. This is a spectacular place to ride. This inn is the perfect jumping off place. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bassuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#3 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
12.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Thomas Shepherd Inn
#1 of 4 in Shepherdstown
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing