We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Save
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list
138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historical Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were greeted warmly by Joanne upon our late-day arrival and given an orientation to the house, then taken to see out room. It was lovely and really gave us the feeling of having stepped back in time.The Inn is a great compliment to Sharpsburg's and the surrounding Antietam Creek area's quiet dignity.
When we inquired about nearby dining options, we were provided a great, "insider's" listing of establishments both local and at a short driving distance from the Inn. We opted for the Old South Mountain Inn for dinner and were thrilled with our meal and their great service! A perfect fit for our stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn! Our room was large and had a separate sitting room and bath adjacent, a great outdoor porch with a separate staircase and antique furnishings and fixtures. The beds were very comfortable and the room had it's own A/C which I appreciated in the humid weather during our visit. The breakfast was homemade, healthy and delicious and the conversation with our fellow guests was lively and convivial. I highly recommend a stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn to anyone wanting an "authentic" Sharpsburg/Antietam experience. My only regret was that we only had time to stay one night. Next time, we'll book a few days to really allow the special enrichment of the Inn, the Town and the Battlefield enter us fully.

Room Tip: We LOVED the Harpers Ferry Suite (Corner and Porch included) though would ave been be happy in any r...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they compost kichen waste and minimize energy consumption with some improvements they made to the home after acquiring it such as insulation and storm/screens to keep heat/cool in depending on the season. Energy-efficient lighting was in evidence all around.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
146
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you're planning to visit Antietam National Battlefield in Sharpsburg, Md., the absolute best place to stay is the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. It's historic, beautifully maintained and very convenient. Joanne and Paul Breitenbach are gracious hosts and full of information about their inn and the battlefield itself. Joanne's breakfasts are fantastic and she also offers tips on the fine dining options in the area. I've stayed at the inn three times and I always look forward to the next visit. The serene beauty of Antietam and the comfort of a stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a great combination.

Room Tip: The Clara Barton room may be haunted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The wonderful owners of this B and B Could not be more accommodating. The inn is lovely,
Grounds beautiful. The ambiance is very home like without being intrusive.

. The Food is always delicious.. Joanne is very helpful in helping us to choose restaurants and nearby activities. It is like visiting an old friend.

We come every year to attend the contemporary american theater festival . Great discussions of plays around breakfast table.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were lucky there had been a cancellation at the end of the 4th of July weekend for us to get a room at this B&B. Unfortunately, we only had one night there. Our room was like half the floor with a sitting room and our very own private entrance. Joanne, our host, was very friendly, knowledgeable about the area, history of the house and a great cook! Her home-made shortbread cookies are to die for! They even rented my daughter and I a CD set for us to tour the battlefield in our own car for $5. The tour guides through the visitor center at the battlefield are approximately $75 and for the same CD set, $30 to purchase. My daughter loves Belgian waffles, so that's what Joanne made for breakfast the next morning - very nice. We'd definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The B & B is very nice; unfortunately, I became ill, & I was hospitalized. So, we had to check out early. All that added up to a very expensive visit.
The innkeeper is very informative, businesslike and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Room was Stonewall Jackson room and it is spacious & comfortable. A little area outside the room is there for relaxing and a glass of wine or cup of coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, mD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is really the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in. The antebellum house, the food, the setting, the graciousness and helpfulness of the hostess. Our room was in the old summer kitchen of the house. It was quiet and perfectly appointed. We arrived exhausted and felt right at home. Our hostess knew the area well and was extremely helpful with suggestions. She also wanted to know what we thought of the places we went. The gardens around the house were lovely and there were nice places to sit outside. Our main goal of our stay there was to bike ride in the Antietam battlefield, enjoy the local history and do some hiking. This is a spectacular place to ride. This inn is the perfect jumping off place. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Joanne and Paul are terrific hosts. Joanne is a fountain of knowledge with respect to this historic house, the town of Sharpsburg, and the Battle of Antietam. History is the reason to go to Sharpsburg and our stay with these folks made it very special.

The house/inn is exceptional as well - beautifully furnished and clean as a whistle! We will be back. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sharpsburg landmark since 1804, historic ambiance with all modern amenities at the heart of the Antietam Historic Area. The privacy of a hotel with the charm, grace and comfort of a B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob Rohrbach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.