We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing environment with top hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Save
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list
138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing environment with top hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wife and I stayed in the Stonewall Jackson room that fronted Main Street and had a peaceful night sleep. Access to the front wrought iron porch was nice and great place to have glass of wine and people watch. The gardening/landscaping is impressive but more so are the items Joanne dug up and will show you the history of the property. Plus her appreciation of history and research into the property is deep. We also took a tour with Bob Murphy of Sharpsburg battlefield (Antietam to the Yankees) and found his presentation excellent (ask Johanne to arrange). Be sure to watch the supplied DVD on the battle before you go. Treats, drinks, and breakfast were very good and presented timely. Also check out the summer kitchen and amazing improvements made by Paul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trike1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent three nights staying in Joanne and Paul's lovely home. From the start we were made to feel welcome and our hosts couldn't have been more helpful with books, pamphlets and advice to help plan our visit.

We chose the Antietam room. It is a good size, lots of cupboard and drawer space and with its own private porch for that afternoon cup of tea. Needless to say, beautifully furnished and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. It is reached by wooden steps from the outside which might prove troublesome to someone with mobility issues, especially when it has been raining.

As one would expect from an Inn of this quality, flat screen TV, DVD with a selection of movies including an Introduction to the Battle at Antietam and lots of books on related topics. Free wifi. There was an individual unit to heat or cool the room which proved valuable as it was cold the first day and rather warm the rest of our stay.

Breakfast is around a communal table which we like as you meet so many interesting people from all over the place. Excellent breakfasts as described by fellow reviewers. Flexibility to have Continental if leaving early or just not up to a full cooked offering. Hot water to make tea and coffee always available as well as a fridge with complimentary soft drinks where you can leave your own beverages. Did I nearly forget to mention the cookies? Home made and delicious. A stay of any length would not be good for the waistline.

But what really made this stay special was the hospitality of our hosts.Nothing was too much trouble. We even got a personal tour of a local church, normally kept locked, with magnificent Tiffany windows.

Highly recommended and if you do go look out for Dusty, the prettiest cat I have seen for a long time.

Room Tip: Antietam room is the largest room and towards the back of the house so quieter although there really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent the weekend at this charming B&B in historic Sharpsburg, a stone's throw from Antietam Battlefield. We chose the spacious General's Quarters room with its separate entrance, private porch facing a beautiful garden, queen-sized bed and double pull-out couch, ample bathroom, mini fridge, Wi-Fi/HD TV/DVD, with ample parking in the back. Joanne and Paul, the owners, couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. Served at 8:30 am, the breakfasts were bountiful and delicious. Juice, homemade breads, fresh fruit, scrumptious savory or sweet entree and good coffee. In the afternoon you can help yourself to a cup of tea and homemade cookies. Joanne is a very good historian and will fill you in on the inn's history as well as other interesting stories. The inn is filled with historical items they've found on the property, too. If you choose to stay close for dinner, you can walk down the street to Captain Bender's which serves good basic food. Nutter's Ice Cream is a block away, serving the best ice cream around. There are very good restaurants in Shepherdstown as well, which is only 3 miles away. Joanne can also make reservations for you, plus advise you on personalized tours of the battlefield. There is so much history to soak up, and you can certainly combine your stay with a visit to Harpers Ferry which is about a half hour away. I recommend parking at the Visitor's Center and taking the shuttle, as there's very limited parking, especially on weekends. There's a $10 fee to the park. We also ventured to the Kennedy Farm (by appt. only) where John Brown hid out prior to the raid in 1859 and the Pry House close to the battlefield where General McCellan set up headquarters, which also turned into a Union hospital. Worth a visit and very interesting. Again, if you decide to visit Antietam, one of the most pristine Civil War battlefields left in the country, please run, don't walk, to the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We chose the General's Quarters room because we wanted two separate beds, as it was a girls'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suemonty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were very impressed with the historic inn. It was full of charm and Joanne made us very welcome. The delicious home cooked breakfast were much enjoyed. Joanne was very informative about the history of the area. We would certainly stay there again and will highly recommend anyone who is looking for accommodation with a special feel.

Christine W.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Stonewall Jackson room which is on the ground floor with direct access to the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwhittell107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time. Excellent room, delicious food, and gracious hospitality. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast, we enjoyed it immensely. We highly recommend staying at the inn if you are planning on visiting the Sharpsburg area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Antietam room. We enjoyed having our own entrance and porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allerton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

While away on a girls weekend, we have never been as welcome anywhere as we were by Joann and her husband. Traveling from Northeast Tennessee, we were arriving late, and Joann was very accommodating and letting us arrive when we did so late at night.

The next morning, we had a brilliant breakfast, and great conversation with the other guests.

I look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennaloohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Coming from UK for a tour of Civil War Battlefields, our first two nights at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn a wonderful introduction to American hospitality. We were made very welcome by Joanne the owner and shown to our rooms which were clean and spacious, with sitting areas and our own veranda. Having spent a comfortable night we were treated to a fantastic home cooked breakfast. This was served at a large dining table where we were introduced to other guests who were staying. This was a great idea so we could exchange experiences and generally get to know one another. The food was traditional American fare. Joanne gave us lots of information about local places of interest and even printed out detailed routes so that we didn't get lost. It was so convenient for Antietam battlefield and a lovely historic town with nearby vinyards.

We were travelling with friends and all agreed how nice the Inn was.
Thanks Joanne for starting our American tour in such style.

Room Tip: All rooms are good sized and have their own porch to sit out on. Harper's Ferry suite is superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#3 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
12.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Thomas Shepherd Inn
#1 of 4 in Shepherdstown
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing